Winners Announced for the Capstone / Foundation International Business Competition

Share Article

University students, from all over the world, competed in the Capstone / Foundation Business Simulation competition. The students managed simulated companies and the winners achieved the highest profits.

Dan Smith, president of Management Simulations, Inc., announced the winners of the Spring 2004 Capstone / Foundation Business Simulation International Challenge.

The competition began with 703 teams of university students, totaling 997 participants. Teams were judged on cumulative profit. Students managed simulated corporations making decisions in Research and Development, Human Resources, Marketing, Production and Finance.

Each of these categories involved making many analyses and decisions, with eight simulated years of operation taking place in one week. The finals compressed eight years of management into one day.

In the Capstone Business Simulation category, the winners and their professors were:

1st place: Stevens Institute of Technology: Student Abdulla Udaipurwala - Professor Allen Ginsberg

2nd place: University of Arkansas: Students James Craig & Robert Wittig – Professor Vikas Anand

3rd place: St. Andrews Presbyterian College: Student Cedrick Ratliff - Professor James Hansz

4th place: University of Massachusetts: Student Andreas Weischer, Michael Kessler, David Chung, Yue Jessica Yu, Zeyno Sobaci & Yuanyuan Zhang - Professor Walter Einstein

5th place: Georgia WebMBA: Students Bryan Babb & Matthew Wagner - Professor Gary Roberts

6th place: Binghamton University: Student James Sherman – Professor Robert Cline        

In the Foundation Business Simulation category, the winners and their professors were:

1st place: Kennesaw State University: Student Amy Chittick-Kulper & James Guido - Professor Harry Lasher

2nd place: Weber State University: Student David Clay - Professor E. K. Valentin

3rd place: Drexel University: Student Kurt Hutter – Professor Robert Laessig

4th place: Western Carolina University: Student Vadzim Yazvinski - Professor Roger Higgs

5th place: Montana State University, Billings: Student Kris Zito - Professor Patricia Holman

6th place: University of Massachusetts: Student Sean Farrelly, Erica Sylvia, Suzanne Raposo &

Eyad Marzuq - Professor Walter Einstein

Management Simulations, Inc. sent congratulatory plaques, to the winning students. Winners’ names are posted on the web site

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print