Olympus and SanDisk Sponsor Lucie Awards

Share Article

Olympus and SanDisk have recently become the latest sponsors of the Lucie Awards, an annual prestigious photography awards show.

Olympus America and SanDisk have recently become sponsors of the 2004 Lucie Awards. Other major sponsors include Gretag Macbeth, LowePro, BlackBook, and AGFA Film Corporation. For a full list of Lucie Awards sponsors, please visit http://www.lucieawards.com.

Sponsorship benefits include logo placement on all collateral material, global marketing exposure, advertisement placement in awards program, and access to 15,000+ membership base.

The Lucie Awards recognizes the achievements of the world’s finest photographers with categories including fashion, entertainment, advertising, portraiture, fine art, photojournalism, documentary and lifetime achievement. The Lucie Awards is the only ceremony of its kind honoring the greatest achievements in photography. Lucie Award founder and Event Director, Hossein Farmani, says, “The spirit behind the annual Lucie Awards ceremony is to salute the achievements of the world’s finest photographers, discover new and emerging talent, and promote the appreciation of photography.”

2004’s Lucie Awards ceremony will be held at the American Airlines Theater in New York City on October 18, 2004. The Gala Awards Ceremony be hosted by Douglas Kirkland and will include presentations by Sydney Pollack, Cindy Crawford, Jodie Foster, sculptor Robert Graham, Angelica Houston and Andie MacDowell.

As Douglas Kirkland, 2003 Lucie Award recipient and host of 2004’s event, claims, “The movie industry has its Oscars and now the photography community has its Lucies!”

2004 recipients include Gordon Parks, Cornell Capa, Sebastiao Salgado, Jim Marshall, Bruce Davidson, James Nachtwey, Bert Stern, Lillian Bassman, Julius Shulman, Bob Willoughby, Arnold Newman, Sylvia Plachy, Jay Maisel and Special Tribute Awards to Helmut Newton & Francesco Scavullo.

2003 Lucie Award recipients included Henri-Cartier Bresson, Gene Trindl, Phil Borges, Robert Evans, Ruth Bernhard, Annie Liebovitz, William Claxton, Mary Ellen Mark, Steve McCurry, Douglas Kirkland, Melvin Sokolsky, Phil Stern, RJ Muna and Tim Street-Porter. The 2003 Lucie Awards were hosted by Fred Willard and presenters included Brendan Fraser, Ali McGraw, Leonard Nemoy and Vidal Sassoon.

About The Lucie Awards:

Recognizing a void in the photography community, entrepreneur and philanthropist Hossein Farmani conceived and launched the First Annual Lucie Awards in 2003, to honor legendary and emerging photographers. The event is considered the highest and most prestigious ceremony of its kind and honors the greatest achievements in photography. Taken from the Latin root “lux” meaning “light,” the Lucie Award embodies the light that professionals in the photography industry shed on all of our lives. The award statue is the sculptural form inspired by two famous photographic images from the first half of the twentieth century by Frantisek Drtikol and E.O. Hoppe.

About The International Photography Awards:

Founded in 2003 by Hossein Farmani, The International Photography Awards (IPA), hosts an annual competition that recognizes contenders for the International Photographer of the Year Award and the New Discovery Award. Winners are revealed at the annual Lucie Awards ceremony. The International Photographer of the Year Award includes a $10,000 grand prize. In an effort to cultivate and showcase emerging talent, all nonprofessional entries are eligible for the New Discovery Award and a $2,000 prize, lauding best up-and-coming artist. Award-winning entries are published in the IPA Annual Book, distributed throughout the international professional photographic community. IPA is comprised of 15,000 members from around the world. For more information, visit photoawards.com.

For further information, contact Anne Lagerberg at anne@lucieawards.com.

Note: Downloadable press-related images are available online at http://www.lucieawards.com/press

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Anne Lagerberg