24 Track Studio Masters Offered for Auction on Ebay

Share Article

Studio masters of Pure Hell, the very first all black punk rock group, are being offered for auction on Ebay including all rights.

Pure Hell was the very first all black punk rock group back in the late 1970's. They had one single released in England which made it to #4 on the British Charts. The two songs on the single were “These Boots Are Made For Walking” which was a punk version of Nancy Sinatra’s hit song, and the “No Rules” written by members of the band. The band consisted of Kenny Gordon aka Stinker, Preston Morris aka Chip Wreck, Kerry Boles aka Lenny Still, and Michael Sanders aka Spider.

Curtis Knight, who is credited with the discovery of Pure Hell and also Jimi Hendrix, and Kathy Knight-McConnell were partners in Golden Sphinx Records and took this outrageous and talented band into the studio together. Curtis Knight died on November 29, 1999 so as the surviving partner Kathy Knight-McConnell holds all of the rights to these masters and the other material being offered with them on Ebay. These masters are extremely rare and there is enough material to put together a pretty good album or even to use in a documentary production about the band.

The first 24 track studio master which was recorded at Right Track Recording Studios on 2/27/78 contains the following songs:

1) Noise

2) I Feel Bad

3) Hard Action

4) Lame Brain

5) Future

6) Wild One

7) Rot In The Doghouse

The second 24 track studio master was recorded on 9/20/78 also at Right Track Recording Studios and contains:

1) These Boots Are Made For Walking

2) No Rules

3) Thrillers of Oz

4) Courageous Cat

5) Spoil Sport

In addition to the above seller will include a 60 minute broadcast video tape of Pure Hell which was recorded by Video Variations and broadcast on Channel “J” in the Cabaret Series, marked as show #13. One 45 RPM recording with full color jacket, in excellent condition, of the single released in London which contains “These Boots Are Made For Walking” (remake of the Nancy Sinatra hit) and “No Rules” (an original Pure Hell composition) which was produced by Curtis Knight, released on our Golden Sphinx record label #GSX-002 and distributed by Spartan Records in England. Kathy designed the jacket. (See photos on Ebay)

Kathy also designed the original artwork for the unreleased album which is included with this package. The colors are much more vibrant and the painting is much more detailed than the photo can do it justice. This is an acrylic painting on art board 14" X 16 3/4".

The seller is also including a poster that was used for the band’s debut at Max’s Kansas City (one of a kind) and which contains two very rare black and white photographs of the band in full makeup and costumes. It is 17 3/4" X 22" with a red devil that matches the ones on the painting and the record sleeve (See photos on Ebay).

Also included in the package are six boxes of color slides of Pure Hell as follows:

Box #1 contains 19 Ektachrome transparencies - all outdoor shots of the band taken in New York City

Box #2 contains 35 Kodachrome slides shot at Max’s Kansas City - some performing and some back stage shots

Box #3 contains 33 Kodachrome slides also shot at Max’s Kansas City

Box #4 contains 32 Kodachrome slides shot at Max’s Kansas City

Box #5 contains 36 Kodachrome slides all stage performance shots, probably at CBGB’s

Box #6 contains 23 Kodachrome slides of Pure Hell performing, 4 slides of Pure Hell with Curtis Knight, and 6 slides of Pure Hell with Sid Vicious (a couple also have Jerry Nolan)

Seller will also include in this package three tape cassettes of live recordings including one which was recorded live in England, one that has only music (no vocals), and one rehearsal tape.

Also included with the package is a news clipped article titled “Hell In Britain” from the Melody Maker 11/4/78 page 4 that shows Pure Hell with Sid Vicious and Jerry Nolan. The article reads, “Pure Hell, the black New York punk band who played with Sid Vicious in New York, come to Britain in Mid-November to play four dates to promote their debut single “These Boots Are Made For Walking”, the former Nancy Sinatra hit, released on November 10. The dates are at Birmingham Barbarellas (November 15), London Music Machine (16), Manchester Mayflower (17) and Liverpool Erics (18). The band currently in Holland, played with Vicious at Max’s Kansas City club in New York before he was charged with the murder of Nancy Spungen.”

“The line-up of Pure Hell, who are managed by Curtis Knight, is: Kenny Gordon, lead vocals, Preston Morris, lead guitar, Kerry Boles, bass and Michael Sanders, drums.”

Michael Sanders, a.k.a. Spider passed away in April 2002 due to complications of pancreatic cancer. The news of his passing can be read in an interesting article which describes Spider as “punk's first (and truest) African-American rocker” at:


For further information there is also a pretty good article about Pure Hell in online newsletter Roctober (scroll down to where it says Pure Hell) at:


To view the auction please go to: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=3852436095&ssPageName=STRK:MESE:IT

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kathy Knight-McConnell

Email >
Visit website