Stunt Organizations React to Academy Snub of "Best Stunt Coordinator"

Share Article

Hollywood's premier stunt organizations respond to Board of Governors' decision denying the creation of a "Best Stunt Coordinator" Oscar.

Representatives from Stunts Unlimited, The Stuntmen's Association of Motion Pictures, The International Stunt Association, V10 Women Stunt Professionals and The Stuntwomen's Association of Motion Pictures reacted strongly to last evening's decision by the The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) to deny their request for the creation of a new category for "Best Stunt Coordinator."

"We are stunned and appalled that the Board of Governors has once again failed to move forward with the category for 'Best Stunt Coordinator' and will seek a complete explanation regarding their negative response to our request. When you realize the recent categories the Academy has added, especially for technological achievement, and how that area has evolved, and then look at the enormous contributions of Stunt Coordinators, it doesn't make sense why the Academy continues to deny this category. Stunt Coordinators have gained overwhelming support from Academy Award-winning actors, directors, producers and the general public. It seems the Board of Governors at the Academy are the only faction that is against this issue. Many of the Academy Award categories that are currently honored could not get the support that Stunt Coordinators have gained. Maybe this is a sign that action is not valued by the Academy Board of Governors. We feel the issue should be based on merit and not, as the Academy states, 'ways to reduce the numbers of statuettes given out.' We will demand a face-to-face meeting with the Board of Governors to discuss the issues and ask for an appeal of their decision."

Over the past 15 years, the member stunt organizations, championed by Jack Gill of Stunts Unlimited, have advocated the cause for Academy Award consideration, only to be stonewalled in their efforts. Industry luminaries such as directors Steven Spielberg, Martin Scorsese and Sidney Lumet, producers Jerry Bruckheimer, Gerald Molin and John Starke, actors Robert DeNiro, Dustin Hoffman, Michael Douglas, Arnold Schwarzenegger and many other entertainment dignitaries have all signed a petition stating that Stunt Coordinators merit an award category by the Academy.

To become a part of the petition and add your name in support of Stunt Coordinators, please go to and click the "Academy Petition" button.

For additional information contact:

Liam Collopy

Account Director

Levine Communications Office


T: 310.300.0950 x 236

F: 310.300.0951

Brian McWilliams

Account Executive

Levine Communications Office


T: 310.300.0950 x 232

F: 310.300.0951

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Liam Collopy
Visit website