(PRWEB) July 8, 2005
California BusinessÂ Scramble Too Cover Their Assets
Los Angeles, California joins Connecticut and Maine requiring sexual harassment training thanks to Assembly Bill 1825. AB-1825 was signed into law by Governor Schwarzenegger on September 30, 2004. The new law mandates that companies with 50 or more employees train their supervisors in sexual harassment prevention every two years.
ÂCalifornia is now mandating the sexual harassment training that employment law experts have been recommending for years,Â said Randall J. Krause CEO and President of yourHRdepartment, Inc. ÂWe are not the first state nor will we be the last state to require sexual harassment training,Â said Mr. Krause.
Sexual harassment has been widely overlooked for many years and, in some companies, it is still overlooked. Despite a fundamental raising of awareness in AmericaÂs corporate culture throughout the 1990Âs, workplace sexual harassment lawsuits remain a problem and account for 22 percent of all administrative employment claims filed in California today. Hefty cash settlements and jury awards continue to drain profits out of our nationÂs businesses. A recent judgment gave an astonishing $30.6 million to six current and former female employees of RalphÂs Supermarket stores. The point is clear that companies are still turning a blind eye to an on-going problem.
AB 1825 seeks to improve this track record by requiring employers to provide two hours of interactive Âsexual harassmentÂ training and education to supervisory employees. The training must be designed to cover certain topics including information and practical guidance regarding the federal and state statutory provisions concerning the (a) prohibition against and (b) the prevention and correction of (i) sexual harassment and (ii) the remedies available to victims of sexual harassment in employment. The training and education must also include practical examples aimed at instructing supervisors in the prevention of (a) harassment, (b) discrimination, and (c) retaliation, and must be presented by trainers or educators with knowledge and expertise in the prevention of harassment, discrimination, and retaliation.
There are two key dates. All supervisors who are employed in a supervisory position as of July 1, 2005, must receive training no later than January 1, 2006. If a supervisor is hired or promoted into a supervisory position after July 1, 2005, they have six months to complete the training. After the initial training, the law requires all supervisors to be provided with at least two hours of anti-harassment training every two years.
With employers scrambling, yourHRdepartment, Inc. and other expert HR providers offer a cost effective way to comply and reduce the risk of lawsuits. Online and interactive training programs are now available. But, employers should be wary of programs designed or offered by providers outside of California. CaliforniaÂs laws are stricter than the federal laws. The defenses and remedies differ too. Employers should carefully evaluate any online training program to insure that it complies with AB 1825.
yourHRdepartment, Inc. offers the resources of a fully-staffed HR department. Our staff includes employment attorneys, HR directors and managers. We provide the help you need, when and where you need it. For more information please visit us at http://www.yourHRdepartment.com
Contact: Jeff Garza
Tel. 1-800-387-4468 Ext.164