Web Marketing Association Names Best Travel Website of 2005

Share Article

The Web Marketing Association is pleased to announce the travel related best of industry winners for the 9th annual international WebAward Competition.

The Web Marketing Association is pleased to announce the travel related best of industry winners for the 9th annual international WebAward Competition (http://www.webaward.org), the Internet’s premier award competition. The travel industry represents significant categories in the WebAward competition, and the Web Marketing Association again honors the Best Travel Web sites of 2005

“Web sites are extremely important to the travel industry,” said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association. “Companies can benefit from the independent evaluation recognition of their online efforts that the award judges provide. That is the goal of the WebAward Competition - to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective websites on the Net today.”

Here are this year’s top sites along with past WebAward winners in travel related categories.

Best Travel Website

2005 YellowstonePark.com

2004 Seabourn Cruise Line

2003 Excalibur Las Vegas Resort Hotel and Casino

2002 Royal Caribbean Alaska

2001 Experience British Airways (Best of Show Winner)

Best Airline Website

2005 We Know Why You Fly: American Airlines

2004 AirTran Airways - E-Annual 2003

2003 Jetsgo.net

2002 Air Jamaica

2003 Cathay Pacific Airway

Best Hotel and Lodging Website

2005 WARWICK International Hotels

2004 The New York Palace Web Site

2003 Le Meridien Hotels & Resorts

2002 Simpson House Inn

2001 Four Seasons

Best Regional Website

2005 Knoxville Tourism and Sports Corporation

2004 Official Tourism Site of the Land of Valencia

2003 Atlanta Convention & Visitors Bureau

2002 Buffalo Niagara Convention & Visitors Bureau Website

2001 http://www.ozarkmountainregion.com

A complete list of past winners can be found at http://travel.webaward.org

Web sites are judged on design, innovation, content, technology, interactivity, navigation and ease of use. Each WebAward entry is judged against other entries in the category and then against an overall standard of excellence. The 2005 Best of Show WebAward is presented to Atlanta -based IQ interactive (http://www.iqtv.com), for their outstanding work on "National Geographic – Inside The Mafia" at URL http://www.insidethemafia.com. The site was also awarded Best Entertainment WebAward.

Zugara (http://www.zugara.com) was named Top Agency at the 2005 WebAward Competition, taking home 20 awards, more that any other organization in the history of the competition. The Top Agency Award given to recognize the consistently outstanding development going on at interactive firms. Zugara is headquarted in Los Angles and took home Best Music site for Red Bull Music Labs, 11 Outstanding and 8 Standard of Excellence WebAwards.

The 2005 WebAwards are sponsored by BURST! Media (http://www.burstmedia.com), Oddcast (http://www.oddcast.com), NewsUSA (http://www.newsusa.com), O’Dwyer’s PR Daily (http://www.odwyerpr.com), Small Army Creative Services (http://www.smallarmy.net), Burrelles Luce (http://www.burrellesluce.com), Line 56 Media (http://www.line56.com), Perseus Software (http://www.perseus.com) and PRWeb (http://www.prweb.com). The Web Marketing Association thanks it sponsors for helping to make this annual competition possible.

About the Web Marketing Association

The Web Marketing Association is an organization working to create a high standard of excellence for Web site development and marketing on the Internet. Staffed by volunteers, it is made up of Internet marketing, advertising, PR and design professionals who share an interest in improving the quality of advertising, marketing and promotion used to attract visitors to Web sites. Since 1997, the Web Marketing Association’s annual WebAward Competition has been helping interactive professionals promote themselves, their companies, and their best work to the outside world. Now in its ninth year, the WebAward Competition has become the premier award event for Web developers and marketers worldwide.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

William Rice
Visit website