2005 UNCA Awards for Excellence in Journalism - Kofi Annan Presents Sir Brian Urquhart with UNCA "Citizen of The World" Award

Share Article

This year's entries came from across the globe. The judges looked for more than just reportage. The winners have taken risks, professionally and personally.

UN Secretary General Kofi Annan presented the prestigious UN Correspondents Association Awards to journalists from around the world who cover the United Nations, at the 10th Annual UNCA Awards Dinner. Sir Brian Urquhart, one of the original members of the UN, former UN Under-Secretary General, and pioneer of peacekeeping received UNCA’s 2005 ‘Citizen of the World’ Award. UN Goodwill Ambassador and distinguished actress Julia Ormond was Special Guest at the black tie dinner that took place at the UN, Friday, December 2, 2005.

This year’s entries came from across the globe. The judges looked for more than just reportage. The winners have taken risks, professionally and personally, and have looked hard beneath the official releases and spin.

UNCA offers $10,000 prizes in three categories for journalism in all media for coverage of the United Nations at Headquarters and in the field.

The winners follow.

Elizabeth Neuffer Memorial Prize for Print Journalism: Sponsored by the Boston Globe and UNCA

  • Joint Gold Medal: Mohamad Bazzi, Newsday, New York USA, The UN and the Iraqi Election and

Dafna Linzer, The Washington Post, Washington DC, USA, Coverage of the US and the Iran/IAEA crisis

  • Silver Medal: Siddarth Varadajaran, The Hindu, New Delhi, India, Series on The IAEA, Iran, and India

The Ricardo Ortega Memorial Prize for Broadcast Journalism: Sponsored by Antena 3 TV of Spain

  • Gold Medal: Ishbel Matheson & Dan McMillan, BBC Radio 4 and World Service for coverage of Darfur
  • Joint Silver Medal: Rory O’Connor, Globalvision, New York, USA, Malaria: It's simply unacceptable and

Nara Ferreira, Radio Senado, Brasilia, Brazil, for coverage of the Sixtieth Anniversary of the UN

The UN Foundation Prize for Reporting on Humanitarian and Development Affairs:

Sponsored by the UN Foundation

  • Gold Medal: Supara Janchitfah, Bangkok Post, Thailand, The UN and Human Rights in Thailand
  • Silver Medal: Roberta Jansen, O Globo, Brazil, AIDS in Africa

This year’s UNCA/Ranan Lurie Political Cartoon Award winners follow.

First Prize $10,000

  • Gerald Mayer Hofer / Austria

Second Prize $5,000

  • David Pope / Australia

Third Prize $3,000

  • Osamni Simanca / Brazil

The UN Correspondents Association was founded in 1948 as a press club at the United Nations. The UNCA Annual Awards were established in 1995, as a global competition, to encourage in depth coverage of the United Nations and its work. In the decade since, it has honored journalists from every continent, working in all media and many languages. In 2003, UNCA instituted the Sergio Vieira de Mello ‘Citizen of the World Award,’ in honor of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, killed in Baghdad. UNCA also renamed two of our journalism prizes in honor of our colleagues, Elizabeth Neuffer, who died covering Iraq, and Ricardo Ortega, killed in Haiti. For further information on the UNCA Awards see http://www.unca.com


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Ann Forster
Visit website