Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition Offers $2,000 Award to Top Writers

Share Article

Short story writers are invited to compete for $2,000 in cash prizes in a competition directed by Lorian Hemingway, Pulitzer Prize-nominated author and granddaughter of Ernest Hemingway. Now in its 26th year, the competition was created to support the work of emerging writers.

Entries are now being accepted for the 2006 Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition, which offers $2,000 in cash prizes to writers of short fiction. The literary competition is open to all writers whose fiction has not appeared in a nationally distributed publication with a circulation of 5,000 or more.

The first-place winner will receive $1,000 in cash, while the second- and third-place winners will receive $500 apiece. Judges will also award honorable mentions to other entrants whose work demonstrates promise.

In the 2005 competition, Naomi Benaron of Tucson, Ariz., triumphed over nearly 700 other entrants to receive $1,000 for "The Chemical Nature of Things," which details the pain and compassion of a young medical student recalling her mother's mental illness. Rich Savastio of Key West, Fla., earned second place for "Sushi's Armada/Kevin's Typewriter Too," while Lana Kyle of Sevierville, Tenn., took third place for "Five Frames."

In addition to its top prizes, the 2005 Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition awarded 15 honorable mentions for entries of merit.

The Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition was created in 1981 to support and encourage the efforts of writers who have not yet achieved major-market success. Lorian Hemingway, the granddaughter of Ernest Hemingway, is the author of the critically-acclaimed novel "Walking into the River," the National Book Award and Pulitzer Prize nominee "Walk on Water," and the evocative "A World Turned Over."

To be eligible for the 2006 competition, stories must be original, unpublished, typed and double-spaced, and 3,000 words or less. There are no theme restrictions, but only works of fiction will be considered. A sampling of winning stories from past years is posted on the competition website, http://www.shortstorycompetition.com.

Each story should be accompanied by a cover sheet with the writer's name, complete address, e-mail address, phone number, and title of the piece. Writers' names should not appear on the stories, and manuscripts will not be returned. Copyright remains the property of the author.

The entry fee is $10 for each story postmarked by May 1, 2006, and $15 for each story postmarked between May 1 and May 15, 2006. Entries postmarked after May 15 will not be accepted.

Winners will be announced at the end of July 2006 in Key West. All entrants will receive a letter from Lorian Hemingway and a list of winners by Oct. 1, 2006.

The Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition has a 25-year history of literary excellence, and its organizers are dedicated to supporting the efforts of emerging writers of short fiction. All manuscripts and their accompanying entry fees should be sent to the Lorian Hemingway Short Story Competition, P.O. Box 993, Key West, FL 33041.

For information, contact contest co-director Carol Shaughnessy at (305) 294-0320.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carol Shaughnessy