Bebo Wins People's Voice Award as Best Social Networking Web Site for the Tenth Annual Webby Awards

Share Article

Bebo selected over MySpace by the public after 300,000 votes cast.

Launched only 10 months ago, Bebo has become the largest social networking site in the UK, Ireland and New Zealand, and was voted Best Social Networking Web Site of 2006 in the annual People’s Voice voting. With well over half the total number of votes cast in its favor, Bebo convincingly tops MySpace and the other nominees to win this coveted award.

“We’re thrilled to accept the People’s Voice Award as the best social networking site on the web today,” says Michael Birch, CEO of Bebo. “We were pleasantly surprised when we received the call that we had won. We attribute the victory to the overwhelming response from our 24 million Beboers, and we are so proud to accept this award on their behalf.”

“The Webby Awards honors the outstanding web sites that are setting the standards for the internet,” said Tiffany Shlain, founder and ambassador of The Webby Awards.

About Bebo

Bebo is the next generation social network that enables high school and college students to stay in touch with their friends, find long lost friends and meet new people. Officially launched in July 2005, in just ten months, the social network has more than 24 million registered members viewing 2.5 billion monthly page views. According to third party sources like Nielsen and Alexa, Bebo is the largest social networking site in the UK, Ireland, and New Zealand; and growing quickly in the United States, Australia and Canada. Nielsen recently reported that Bebo is the most recognized online brand among teens in the UK. Bebo’s CEO and founder launched one of the first social networking sites,, which he later sold to Tickle (now part of Monster); and Bebo was joined early on by the former head of business development at Friendster. For more information, visit or email press @

About The Webby Awards:

Called the "Oscars of the Internet" by the New York Times, the Webby is the leading international award honoring excellence in Web design, creativity, usability and functionality. Established in 1996, the 10th Annual Webby Awards received over 5,500 entries from all 50 states and over 40 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards are presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. For more information visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carleen LeVasseur
Visit website