AVP Live on FOX, Saturday June 17th at 4:30pm Nationwide

Share Article

The AVP Men’s Pro Beach Volleyball Tour debuts on FOX following Major League Baseball on Saturday June 17th, 2006 at 4:30pm nationwide.

The AVP Sacramento Open will be broadcast live on FOX Saturday June 17th at 4:30pm. FOX will broadcast the AVP Men’s final nationally following Major League Baseball’s Interleague Match-Ups.

Top-seeded Phil Dalhausser and Todd Rogers enter Sacramento having won the past four AVP tournaments. With a win in Sacramento, Rogers and Dalhausser would become the first men’s team in AVP history to win five consecutive championships. In 1997, AVP legend Karch Kiraly and Adam Johnson won four straight.

The Men’s side is deeper than ever as Dalhausser and Rogers road to victory has included stiff competition. The duo defeated reigning AVP MVP Jake Gibb and AVP star Sean Rosenthal in Tempe; Olympians Jeff Nygaard and John Hyden in Santa Barbara; AVP Stars Brent Doble and Ryan Mariano in Huntington Beach; and Olympian Stein Metzger and 2004 AVP MVP Mike Lambert last weekend in Hermosa Beach.

Do not miss the hottest action of beach LIVE on FOX Saturday June 17th at 4:30pm as the AVP Sacramento Open Men’s Champion will be crowned.

The Women’s competition will culminate with the Finals on Sunday, June 18, 2006. Misty May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh lead a deep field of the World’s Best Pro Beach Volleyball Players into Sacramento. Following last weeks upset in the AVP Hermosa Beach Open Finals by Elaine Youngs and Rachel Wacholder, May-Treanor and Walsh are looking to rebound and capture their fifth AVP title of 2006.

To win their fifth title, May-Treanor and Walsh will have to defeat such formidable opponents as second seeded Elaine Youngs (2004 Bronze Medalist) / Rachel Wacholder (2005 AVP Best Defensive Player), third seeded and 2000 Olympians Annett Davis / Jenny Johnson-Jordan, and fourth seeded and two-time runner up in 2006, Mason / Boss-Kessy.

Other AVP stars heating up the beach will be three-time Olympic gold medal winner Karch Kiraly, 2004 Bronze Medalist Holly McPeak, 2000 Olympic Gold Medalists Dain Blanton and Eric Fonoimoana, and Indoor Superstar and two time Olympian Logan Tom.

The competition is sure to be fierce and you do not want to miss a single serve, dig or spike. Log on to http://avp.com for more details.

To receive to the latest news, exclusive photos and videos, and discounts on AVP merchandise, make sure to sign up for the Free AVP Newsletter at http://avp.com/fan/signup.jsp.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Keith Dobkowski
Visit website