Radio Ink Names the 40 Most Powerful People in Radio

Share Article

Radio Ink Magazine has released it's annual list of the radio broadcasting industries top broadcasters.

Radio Ink, the radio broadcasting industry’s premier management and marketing magazine, today released its annual list of the 40 Most Powerful People In Radio. Always the magazine’s most talked-about issue, this year’s edition breaks new ground by awarding the top spot to the industry’s most powerful brothers, and features the addition of two more brothers whose association with Google has them poised to take the industry by storm.

Meanwhile, a pair of major radio industry mergers has also led to the ouster of several well-known executives from the rankings.

In a first for the 40 Most Powerful list, this year’s number one spot is split between Mark and Randall Mays. The CEO and president/CFO, respectively, of Clear Channel Communications, these men — groomed to lead the company by their father, company founder and chairman Lowry Mays — hold the reins to the country’s largest radio empire, and have established their company — and themselves — as trailblazers in the industry.

The acquisition of ABC Radio by Citadel Broadcasting led to higher rankings for both Citadel Chairman/CEO Farid Suleman, who moves up from 8th last year to 4th, and COO Judy Ellis, who moves up from 14th to 11th. However, Radio Ink also made the difficult choice to remove ABC Radio president John Hare from the list due to the uncertainty of his future with the company.

Similarly, Cumulus Media Partners’ acquisition of Susquehanna Radio led to the elevation of Cumulus Media Chairman/CEO Lew Dickey from 6th last year to 5th, while Cumulus Executive Vice President/COO Jon Pinch moves up from 20th to 18th. However, the deal also forced former Susquehanna President/COO Nancy Vaeth-Dubroff from the list, as she left the company and hasn’t yet re-emerged.

Included among this year’s new additions are Google/dMarc Broadcasting General Manager/Audio Chad Steelberg and Head of Radio Ryan Steelberg. Internet powerhouse Google’s February 2006 acquisition of the brothers’ company, dMarc Broadcasting, was a major coup both for them and for the radio industry, as it signaled a major move by an online innovator toward the radio business.

These are just a few of the highlights from the 2006 edition of Radio Ink’s 40 Most Powerful People In Radio issue. The entire list is included here, with each person’s 2005 rank, if applicable, listed in parenthesis.

As it does every year, the list is sure to provoke much debate, discussion, and controversy about the radio industry’s power elite!

Radio Ink’s 40 Most Powerful People In Radio

Numbers in brackets (__)are last year's rank

1 Mark Mays, CEO; and Randall Mays, President/CFO, Clear Channel Communications (1, 4)

2 John Hogan, President/CEO, Clear Channel Radio (2)

3 Joel Hollander, Chairman/CEO, CBS Radio (3)

4 Farid Suleman, Chairman/CEO, Citadel Broadcasting (8)

5 Lewis W. Dickey Jr., Chairman/CEO, Cumulus Media (6)

6 David Field, President/CEO, Entercom Communications (5)

7 Jeffrey Smulyan, Chairman/CEO, Emmis Communications (7)

8 Bob Neil, President/CEO, Cox Radio (9)

9 Alfred Liggins, President/CEO, Radio One (10)

10 Bruce Reese, President/CEO, Bonneville International (12)

11 Judy Ellis, President/COO, Citadel Broadcasting (14)

12 Peter Smyth, President/CEO, Greater Media (13)

13 Gary Stone, President/COO, Univision Radio (na)

14 Edward Atsinger, President/CEO, Salem Communications (15)

15 Scott Herman, Executive Vice President/Eastern Region, CBS Radio (na)

16 Stu Olds, CEO, Katz Media Group (16)

17 Ralph Guild, Chairman/CEO, Interep (25)

18 Jon Pinch, Executive Vice President/COO, Cumulus Media (20)

19 Kraig Kitchin, President/COO, Premiere Radio Networks (19)

20 William L. Stakelin, President/CEO, Regent Communications (na)

21 David Rehr, President/CEO, National Association of Broadcasters (na)

22 Catherine Hughes, Founder/Chairperson, Radio One (21)

23 John David, Executive Vice President/Radio, National Association of Broadcasters (22)

24 Marc Morgan, Executive Vice President/COO, Cox Radio (28)

25 Jim Robinson, President, ABC Radio Networks (26)

26 Edward Christian, President/CEO, Saga Communications (29)

27 Stephen Morris, President/CEO, Arbitron (27)

28 George Beasley, Chairman/CEO, Beasley Broadcast Group (31)

29 Raul Alarcon, President/CEO, Spanish Broadcasting System (32)

30 Rick Cummings, President/Radio Division, Emmis Communications (30)

31 Don Benson, President/Radio Division, Lincoln Financial (34)

32 George Pine, President/COO, Interep (36)

33 Peter Kosann, President/CEO, Westwood One (na)

34 Charles M. Warfield Jr., President/COO, ICBC Broadcast Holdings (37)

35 Richard D. Buckley, Chairman/CEO, Buckley Broadcasting (39)

36 Skip Weller, President, NextMedia Group (36)

37 Mary Quass, President/CEO, NRG Media (38)

38 Virginia “Ginny” Morris, President, Hubbard Radio (40)

39 Mark Masters, CEO, Talk Radio Network (na)

40 Chad Steelberg, GM/Audio; and Ryan Steelberg, Head of Radio, Google/dMarc Broadcasting (na)


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joe Howard
Visit website