Currency News Sponsors New IACA Awards for Currency; Nominations Deadline Set as February 28, 2007

Share Article

Currency News, a monthly magazine analysing currency published by Reconnaissance International, is the sponsor of the inaugural IACA awards.

Currency News, a monthly magazine, is now confirmed as the sponsor of the new awards scheme for the currency industry IACA (the Industry Association for Currency Affairs) is introducing a, sponsored by Currency News, to promote and recognize excellence in currency production, processing, management and distribution. The awards are open to any organization or individual supplying products, systems or services, as well as issuing authorities, commercial banks and retailers, enforcement agencies and suppliers of support services.

There will be seven different award categories, including the Lifetime Achievement Award; Best New Banknote or Banknote Series; Best New Coin or Coin Series; Best New Technology; Best New Innovation; Best Public Education Program; and Best Website. The Technology, Innovation, Website and Lifetime categories relate to all parts of the industry, including suppliers of features and components; printers and mints; manufacturers of production and processing equipment, dispensing and recycling systems, cash management software and systems, verification and analytical equipment; suppliers of cash handling and security services etc.

Organizations can nominate themselves, their customers or suppliers – or indeed any other organization that they think merits an award. Nomination forms will be available shortly via the IACA and Currency News websites, while an online form will also be available on the IACA website. Nominations will need to include a one-page description and be accompanied, where relevant, by product samples.

The deadline for award nominations to be received will be February 28, 2007. From these nominations, a shortlist of up to three in each category will be selected by IACA’s Awards Committee. This shortlist will be published on the IACA website and in Currency News, and IACA members will then vote to select the winner in each category. The winners will be announced and the awards presented at the Currency Conference in Bangkok in May 2007.

It is intended to hold these awards every 18 months in order for the presentations to coincide with future Currency Conferences. There is no charge for submitting nominations and no limit on the number of nominations that each organization can submit. For the first awards, the nominations for new innovations, technologies, notes or coins must relate to those introduced since January 2005. For subsequent years, the time frame will be the intervening 18 months between each Currency Conference to ensure that only the latest innovations and notes and coins are considered.

Nomination forms will be circulated with the next issue of Currency News, and will be available on the IACA website shortly.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Astrid Mitchell
Visit website