American Parkinson Disease Association Funds More than $3 Million for New Research

Share Article

The country's largest grassroots organization serving the Parkinson community awards $3.3 million in grants, fellowships and support to eight centers for advanced research.

The American Parkinson Disease Association, Inc. (APDA) has awarded $3.3 million in research grants, fellowships, and support to eight centers for advanced research, according to its president, Vincent N. Gattullo.

The country's largest grassroots national organization providing PD patient and caregiver support, free educational materials, and scientific research funding, unanimously accepted the recommendation of its Scientific Advisory Board and funded two Roger Duvoisin, MD grants, 34 research grants, 12 post doctoral grants and added two centers for advanced reseach.

The University of Alabama at Birmingam, and the University of Pittsburgh were selected as APDA Centers for Advnaced Research joining Emory University School of Medicine,Atlanta; UMDNY-Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick; Boston University School of Medicine, University of Virginia Medical Center, Charlottesville; UCLA School of Medicine,Los Angeles; and Washington Univeristy Medical Center, St. Louis. Each center receives a minimum of $100,000 a year for five years, based upon satisfactory annual progress and finanical report.

"APDA has been supporting research towards finding a cure for PD for 45 years and has been a funding partner in every major scientific breaktrhough," Gattullo said. "This year we have increased our funding on all levels from advanced resarch to young scientists entering the field of research at medical and academic institutions from Maine to California." He noted that APDA's dual mission to "Ease the Burden -Find the Cure," includes equal support to the 1.5 million Americans afflicted with PD and their caregivers every day through 58 Information and referral centers, 58 chapters and hundres of support groups across the country.

This year's grant awards were:

·    The Roger Duvoisin, MD, Grant, a two-year, $80,000 award to James Roberts,MD, PhD, of the University of Texas Health Science Center, San Antonio, and Evan Y. Snyder, MD, PhD, a director of The Burnham Institute, La Jolla, Calif.

·    Research grants, one-year, $50,000 awards were given to Rajeshwar Awatramaini, PhD, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.; Sarah Berman, MD, PhD, and Rehana Leak, PhD, University of Pittsburgh; Mark Bevan, PhD, Northwestern University, Chicago; Christopher Bishop, PhD, Binghamton (NY) University; Yvette Bordelon, MD, PhD, Reed Neurological Research, and Sheila Fleming, PhD, University of California, both in Los Angeles; Shankar Chinta, PhD, Buck Institute for Age Research, Novato, Calif.; Gammon Earhart, PhD, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis; Thomas Eckert, MD, Feinstein Institute, Manhasset, NY; and Robert Gross, MD, PhD, and Gary Miller, PhD, Emory University, Atlanta.

Kari Hoyt, PhD, Ohio State University, Columbus; Eric Huang, MD, PhD, University of California, San Francisco; Syed Imam, PhD, and Wei Zhang, MD, PhD, University of Texas, San Antonio; Toshihiro Kitamoto, PhD, University of Iowa, Iowa City, Weidong Le, MD, PhD, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, Tex.; Marie Legare, DVM, PhD, and Ronald Tjalkens, PhD, Colorado State University, Fort Collins; and Pamela McLean, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital, and Brit Mollenhauer, MD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, both in Boston, also earned research grants.

Other research grant recipients include Andreas Kottman, PhD, Columbia University and Neeta Roy, PhD, Weill Medical College of Cornell University, both New York City; Darren Moore, PhD, and Wanli Smith, MD, PhD, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore; Changwei Liu, PhD, University of Colorado Health Science, Aurora; Chad Rienstra, PhD, University of Illinois, Champaign; Jean-Christophe Rochet, PhD, Purdue University, West Lafayette, Ind.; Kala Venkiteswaran, PhD, Penn State Hershey (Pa.) Medical Center; Mark Wilson, PhD, University of Nebraska, Lincoln; Jianhua Zhang, PhD, University of Alabama, Birmingham; and Zhuohua Zhang. PhD, Burnham Institute, La Jolla, Cal.

·    Twelve, one-year, $35,000, post doctoral grants were awarded to Marie Olivia

Casanueva, PhD, Northwester University, Evanston, Ill.; Susan Criswell, MD, and Morvaid Karimi, MD, Washington University School of Medicine, St. Louis; Suk Yun Kang, MD, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Md.; and Charbel El Hajj Moussa, PhD, Caritas St. Elizabeth’s Medical Center, and Danging Xiao, PhD, Massachusetts General Hospital, both Boston; and Donna Lee, PhD, Buck Institute for Age Research, Novato, Cal.

Other post doctoral grants were awarded to Daniel Lightfoot, PhD, Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, Cal.; Christina Malagelada, PhD, Columbia University, New York, NY; Subhojit Roy, MD, PhD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Jessica Smerz, PhD, Cleveland (Ohio) Clinic Foundation; and Talene Yacoubian, PhD, University of Alabama, Birmingham.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website