Popular Comedy SciFi Book Series Celebrates its First Birthday

Share Article

Spindle, the first book in a comedy scifi series, was released one year ago, and the author is thrilled with the reaction fans and critics have given the debut novel.

August 5, 2006 marked the first anniversary of the release of Spindle, a comedy science fiction novel by Australian author Ian Taylor.

In the year since its release, Spindle has garnered critical raves. It was a Fresh Voices 2005 Finalist in the Humor category. Midwest Book Review called it “a wonderfully entertaining SciFi novel that is a genuine pleasure from beginning to end,” and a look at Amazon.com’s Spindle page suggests that fans agree. Reader reviewers there give Spindle their Geek Seal of Approval, as when one reader calls it “a combination of Monty Python and Douglas Adams, with a side of Doctor Who.”

In a glowing review, Eileen Mulligan, a reporter from Taylor’s hometown newspaper, the Illawarra Mercury, called their homegrown comedian’s novel “a rip-roaring, fast-paced tale in the tradition of Douglas Adams and Red Dwarf.”

The frequent comparisons to Douglas Adams, Monty Python, and long-running BBC shows Doctor Who and Red Dwarf really tickle Taylor, who cites them all as strong influences.

For fans and new readers alike, there is an official Spindle web page at http://www.spindlebook.com. An excerpt may be read there, and further free reading can now be done by going to Amazon.com’s Spindle page and using their “Search Inside” feature.

Mr. Taylor reports that many e-mails sent to his official fan club (spindlefan AT yahoo.com) are from fans who want to know when a sequel will be available, and he reports that he is nearly half done with the first draft of Book Two in the Spindle series, which will be called Spindle: Wasteworld. Currently, the author is putting the finishing touches on a screenplay of Spindle and is looking for financing for that project, but he still expects Wasteworld to be in fans’ hands by late 2007.

“I’m thrilled by the scifi community’s reaction to Spindle,” he says, “But soon I’ll really need an agent to deal with some of the attention.”

Ian Taylor is available for interviews and can be reached at (978) 343-0507 or at his fan club at spindlefan AT yahoo.com

Spindle Fan Club, P.O. Box 1621, Fitchburg, MA 01420

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Karen Taylor
Visit website