Vintage Motorsport Wins Two Top Awards from Society of Automotive Historians

Share Article

Historic motor racing publication earns Best Magazine title via Brigham Award, plus Best Article of the year for “Lucky Goes To Camp” at annual awards and meeting of prestigious group of auto industry historians and preservationists.

Vintage Motorsport magazine was honored here as Best Magazine and for Best Article of the year by the prestigious Society of Automotive Historians at the group’s annual meeting and awards banquet at the Hershey gathering, a massive multi-day conclave of classic car shows, auctions and swap meets.

The Society’s Richard & Grace Brigham Award for Best Magazine, is presented annually to the periodical which “exhibits the best overall treatment of automotive history over all issues published during the previous calendar year.” A publication may receive the Brigham Award only once in a five-year period. SAH President Dr. Michael Berger presented the award to Vintage Motorsport chairman Syd Silverman at the society’s annual banquet at the Hershey Country Club.

The SAH stated, “Vintage Motorsport, The Journal of Motor Racing History, represents the highest standard of historical automotive publishing, both in content and presentation. The consistent quality suggests a staff that knows and loves their profession. Automotive artist Jack Juratovic, who co-chairs the Bingham Award committee, has that gifted eye for visual quality, and he was as enthusiastic about this publication as we have ever seen him.”

In addition, Vintage Motorsport contributor Willem Oosthoek earned the Society’s Carl Benz Award, given annually to honor what the SAH deems the best periodical article (or series) in the field of automotive history. The article, “Lucky Goes To Camp,” detailed the colorful exploits of Lloyd “Lucky” Casner’s Camoradi racing team, the first to successfully obtain corporate racing sponsorship. The team won frequently in Europe and the U.S. between 1960-65, until Casner was killed in his Maserati at Le Mans in 1965. The winning story appeared in the July/August 2005 edition of Vintage Motorsport.

It was the magazine’s third Benz Award. Vintage Motorsport contributor Carl Goodwin previously won the top honor for Best Article in 2005 and 1998.

Accepting the Bingham Award, Vintage Motorsport chairman Syd Silverman -- also a well-known vintage sports car racer -- told the crowd, “as Vintage Motorsport prepares to celebrate its 25th anniversary in 2007, our staff is very proud to be recognized in this manner by such a highly regarded organization as the Society of Automotive Historians, and we all thank you for this award.”

Silverman added “Our editor-in-chief, D. Randy Riggs, has worked in automotive and motorcycle publishing for nearly 40 years. He believes that true enthusiasts should produce racing publications in order to bring the sport’s energy and passion to life on the pages. And if any of you know Randy, he is indeed a true car nut and a vintage racer, too.”

He concluded, “We plan to carry on that tradition in celebrating the great history of motorsport and stirring up the good dust of automotive preservation and history for many years to come.”

For additional information, contact Vintage Motorsport Publisher Tammie Boyette, or visit

About Vintage Motorsport:

Founded in 1982, Vintage Motorsport: The Journal of Motor Racing History is the oldest and leading vintage racing periodical in the U.S. market. The bimonthly publication covers news and photography of vintage auto racing events in the U.S. and abroad, as well as the history of the cars, drivers, tracks, series and manufacturers who participated in motorsports throughout the 20th century.

Annual subscriptions are $45.00 (U.S.); higher rates apply outside the U.S.


Tammie Boyette, publisher

Vintage Motorsport


About the Society of Automotive Historians:

Founded in 1969, the SAH has more than 900 members in 45 states and 20 countries.

Members include authors who write and research books, articles and programs about automotive history. The society encourages research, preservation, recording, compilation and publication of historical material on the automobile.


Jack Juratovic (Bingham Award Committee Chair)

Society of Automotive Historians



Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Tammie Boyette
Visit website