Registration Opens for Tech Policy Summit

Share Article

Starting today, registration is open for Tech Policy Summit, taking place February 26-27, 2007 in Silicon Valley. The invitation-only, nonpartisan conference examines critical policy issues affecting tech innovation and adoption. Featured presenters include senior executives from VeriSign, IBM, Microsoft, MySpace, AT&T, Intel, SAP, Hewlett-Packard, Verizon, AMD, Comcast and government officials such as the Director of the US Patent and Trademark Office, Hon. Jon W. Dudas. Sessions will be hosted by leading journalists from FORTUNE magazine, the Wall Street Journal, TIME, BusinessWeek, Newsweek, CNBC, CBS News and other top media outlets.

Registration opens today for Tech Policy Summit, an invitation-only, nonpartisan executive conference taking place February 26-27, 2007 in San Jose, California. Bringing together prominent leaders from the private and public sectors, including top government officials, industry executives and legal experts, the Summit provides an independent, unbiased forum for spirited and participatory debate on the policy issues most impacting industry and consumers in the coming months.

With the recent mid-term elections shaking up leadership positions in Congress, Tech Policy Summit offers participants a timely opportunity for learning and networking with the leaders who are shaping the tech policy agenda in Silicon Valley and beyond. Focusing on America's competitiveness in the global economy, the two-day summit will address critical - often controversial - issues surrounding broadband deployment, network neutrality, cyber security, patent reform, digital rights management, international trade, European Union regulation and investments in China.

Renowned journalists including CNBC's Jim Goldman, FORTUNE magazine's David Kirkpatrick, Newsweek's Steven Levy, The Wall Street Journal's Walt Mossberg and Kara Swisher, TIME magazine's Karen Tumulty and BusinessWeek's Steve Wildstrom will host candid onstage interviews and roundtable discussions on these and other topics.

Confirmed speakers to date include:

  • Stratton Sclavos, Chairman and CEO of VeriSign
  • Jon W. Dudas, Undersecretary of Commerce for Intellectual Property and Director of the Patent and Trademark Office
  • Nathan Myhrvold, CEO of Intellectual Ventures and former CTO of Microsoft
  • Phil Bond, President of the Information Technology Association of America
  • Jay Adelson, CEO of digg
  • Gigi Sohn, President of Public Knowledge
  • Reid Hoffman, CEO of LinkedIn and former EVP at PayPal
  • Mark Lemley, noted intellectual property expert and Professor at Stanford Law School
  • Jonathan Abrams, CEO of Socializr and Founder of Friendster
  • Shari Steele, President of the Electronic Frontier Foundation
  • David Sifry, Founder and CEO of Technorati

-Thomas McCoy, Chief Administrative Officer at AMD

  • Robert Atkinson, President of the Information Technology and Innovation Foundation
  • Hemanshu Nigam, Chief Security Officer for MySpace/Fox Interactive Media

The program also features senior government affairs professionals and thought leaders from Association for Competitive Technology, AT&T, Business Software Alliance, Comcast, Cyber Security Industry Alliance, Hewlett-Packard, IBM, Intel, Microsoft, New America Foundation, RealNetworks, SAP and Verizon. Additional presenters, including members of Congress and the Administration, will be announced later this year.

Tech Policy Summit's sponsors and partners include DLA Piper, SAP, Cisco System, Intel, AT&T, Verizon, WIRED magazine, National Journal's Technology Daily, 463 Communications, Information Technology & Innovation Foundation, Association for Competitive Technology, New America Foundation, Business Software Alliance, Cyber Security Industry Alliance and Information Technology Industry Council.

Requests for invitation, sponsorship information and additional details on the speaking program can be found at Also look for Tech Policy Summit updates at the Summit's blog:


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Tech Policy Summit

Email >
Visit website