The Technology Association of Georgia Launches Third Annual Top 40 Innovative Technology Companies Competition

Share Article

Companies to be featured at February Georgia Technology Summit.

We have had some great companies participate in the competition during the first two years

The Technology Association of Georgia (TAG) today launched its Top 40 Innovative Technology Companies Competition, TAG’s annual search to find the 40 most innovative technology companies in the state.

The companies will be featured at TAG’s annual Georgia Technology Summit, February 28, 2007, at Cobb Galleria Center. This year’s Summit will feature keynote presentations by Chris Anderson, editor and chief of Wired Magazine and author of “The Long Tail;” and Rich Demillo, dean of computing at Georgia Tech and former chief technology officer for Hewlett-Packard.

“In just a few years, the Top 40 Innovators has become a major part of the Georgia technology community,” said Tino Mantella, president of TAG. “We are looking forward to again having the privilege to shine the spotlight on some the state’s most creative companies.”

TAG will select the 40 companies in a competitive process that will focus on the companies’ products, services and technologies. The 40 companies will be a part of a tradeshow at the Summit, expected to draw over 1,000 leaders from the state’s technology community.

The Top 10 innovative companies will make “elevator pitches” to the Summit’s attendees including venture capitalists, angel investors, potential customers and partners.

“We will be making a special effort this year to attract more entrants from areas outside of Atlanta,” said Dennis Zakas, chairperson of the Top 40 Innovators Committee and a partner with Hunton & Williams. “We hope to visit several cities throughout the state, including Savannah, Columbus and Augusta, to make an appeal for entrants from those communities.”

Last year, the state’s Top 10 innovative companies included: AirDefense, DSI=Digital, Ivivity, Jacket Micro, Manhattan Associates, nuBridges, Play Motion, @International Services, VersionOne and Wireless Extenders.

“We have had some great companies participate in the competition during the first two years,” said Zakas. “And, we have also had an outstanding group of committee members and judges in our previous events. This year’s group continues our tradition of having some of Georgia’s technology community leaders join with us in this effort to recognize some truly outstanding enterprises.”

In addition to Zakas, the 2007 committee members include: Kathy Harris (Noro-Moseley Partners), Sig Mosley (Imlay Investments), Stephen Fleming (Georgia Tech), Ron Dolinsky (MARKETQUEST), Buddy Ray (Innovation Publishing), Don House (investor and member of Georgia Technology Hall of Fame), Jeff Muir (Chatham Capital), Knox Massey (Atlanta Technology Angels) and Chris Mangum (Venture X).

Applications for the Top 40 Innovators program will be accepted through the end of January 15, 2007. Contact TAG for details on the Top 40 Innovative Companies program, sponsorship opportunities and attendee registration at (404) 817-3333 or visit

About TAG

The Technology Association of Georgia (TAG) is a non-profit organization whose mission is to support its members by generating opportunities for personal, professional and business growth. By forging strategic alliances, TAG serves as a primary catalyst to foster a rich environment for economic development in Georgia’s technology community.

Founded in 1999 through the merger of the Business & Technology Alliance (B&TA), the Southeastern Software Association (SSA) and Women in Technology (WIT), TAG is one of the largest state technology associations in the nation. TAG is made up of 2,400 members representing technology leaders from over 1500 Georgia-based companies, affiliated technology and business organizations. For more information on TAG, visit or call (404) 817-3333.


William B. Marks

W. B. Marks Partners LLC

(404) 510-9347

Tino Mantella


(404) 817-3333


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website