2007 NAWBO-NYC Signature Awards Gala Announced

Share Article

The New York Chapter of the National Association of Women Business Owners (NAWBO-NYC) announces their prestigious 2007 Signature Awards to honor women entrepreneurs who have left their mark--or "signature"--on the New York City business community.

NAWBO-NYC (http://www.nawbonyc.org) is excited to present its premier event of the year, the Signature Awards, to celebrate women at all levels in business. Melanie McEvoy, President of NAWBO-NYC comments, "This is one way that NAWBO-NYC supports women-owned businesses and the woman business owner through our awards program. From the emerging entrepreneur to the established business owner, you are guaranteed to be recognized by NAWBO-NYC!" Once again, this celebration will be held on Tuesday, March 20, 2007 from 5:30-9:00pm at Tribeca Rooftop, located at 2 Desbrosses Street, in Manhattan's hip New York neighborhood.

In 1992, NAWBO-NYC established an annual awards ceremony to highlight the achievements of successful New York women business owners. Since then, the Signature Awards has been expanded to include more award categories, reflecting the steady rise in the number of successful women-owned businesses. Each year, this salute is attended by top corporate women and small business owners in the NYC area and winners are announced at the event. It is fitting that TV Anchor, Roz Abrams, will be this year's presenter and Sharon Epperson from CNBC will once again be the emcee.

This year, the Lifetime Achievement Award honoree is Elaine Brodsky of CitiStorage. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes women who best exemplify the commitment, determination and endurance it take to create a successful, long-term business and who has succeeded in making her company a household name. The Social Entrepreneur Award honoree is Marsha Firestone of Women's President Organization. This award recognizes the innovation, resourcefulness and the successful impact made by a woman in the nonprofit sector who uses business methods to find practical solutions to social problems or needs related to her nonprofit organization.

Award categories include the Master Award (mature companies), the Promise Award (those with the potential of breakthrough success) and the Social Entrepreneur Award (non-profit sector). Past winners include Julia Erickson of City Harvest, Barbara Smith of B. Smith Enterprises and Amy Scherber of Amy's Bread.

You, too, can become a 2007 NAWBO-NYC Signature Award winner! Nominate a friend, business colleague or yourself. Candidates must own at least 50% of a company based in New York City and in operation for at least one year. The decision panel is comprised of current and past NAWBO-NYC Board Members, corporate partners and prominent New York City entrepreneurs. Award selection is based conventional measures of business success (profitability, growth) as much as qualitative criteria, which vary depending on the award (leadership, compassion).

Application forms are available online at NAWBO-NYC's website or by calling the NAWBO-NYC office at (212) 252-1100. Applications must be postmarked no later than January 31, 2007.

NAWBO-NYC is a member of the National Association of Women Business Owners, the only dues-based national organization representing the interests of women entrepreneurs in all industries, with nearly 80 chapters nationwide. This organization inspires and empowers women business owners and promotes and supports the growth of women-owned businesses. As a unified voice for women of diverse industries and backgrounds, the organization seeks to effect social, political and economic change.

Since 1985, NAWBO-NYC has been the collective backbone of the city's 330,000 women business owners, who generate nearly $65 billion in sales annually. NAWBO-NYC offers facilitated networking, supportive and educational programs, inspirational speakers and other special events to help members grow their businesses.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print