Cape Breton International Drum Festival Organizers Confirm Alan White & Michael Shrieve to the 2007 Lineup

Share Article

The complete lineup for the 7th Annual Cape Breton International Drum Festival is now confirmed.

Organizers of the 7th Annual Cape Breton International Drum Festival, Bruce and Gloria Jean Aitken, today confirmed that Yes drummer Alan White and original Santana drummer Michael Shrieve had been added to the 2007 lineup.

"These are the last pieces of the puzzle," a very excited Bruce Aitken commented. "Alan White has played and recorded with so many of the world's greatest and most influential musicians. Michael Shrieve is a global giant, a master of creativity, and at the age of nineteen was the youngest performer at Woodstock. Now they're both coming to Cape Breton!"

Alan White's biography reads like a who's who of the recording industry. His early work can be heard on ex-Beatle John Lennon's biggest selling solo recording Imagine and also with Lennon, Eric Clapton, and Klaus Voormann on the Plastic Ono Band's Live Peace in Toronto 1969 album.

Alan White also performed on John Lennon's Instant Karma! (We All Shine On) single from early 1970.

White's work with Lennon led to Alan recording with another ex-Beatle, the late George Harrison, on Harrison's greatest solo album All Things Must Pass and the chart-topping single My Sweet Lord.

Since 1972 Alan White has been a member of the British supergroup Yes, who are well-known for their progressive rock, odd-time signatures and complex tunes. He has appeared on such classic albums as Yessongs, Relayer, Going for the One, Tormato, Union, The Ladder and the award-winning 90125 which spawned the #1 hit Owner of a Lonely Heart.

White has also worked with Joe Cocker, Rick Wakeman, Donovan, Paul Kossoff (Free), Manfred Mann, Yoko Ono, Sky, Gary Wright, Alan Price Set, and even did a stint with ex-Cream member Ginger Baker's Airforce.

"Having one Yes drummer is one thing," said Gloria Jean Aitken "but having two Yes drummers on one bill…well that's another matter all together. It's out of this world or close to the edge!"

Beginning as a teenager, Michael Shrieve helped create the first eight Santana albums including such classics as Santana, Abraxas, Santana III, Caravanserai, Love Devotion and Surrender, and Lotus. Michael's onstage performance, captured forever in the historic 1970 film Woodstock, is one of the all-time exciting vignettes of "how to play drums" in front of a very large audience.

Michael's recording credits are incredible including such outstanding artists such as Mick Jagger, The Rolling Stones, George Harrison, Pete Townsend, Stevie Winwood, Andy Summers, John McLaughlin, Freddie Hubbard, Jaco Pastorius, Bill Frisell, Airto Moriera, David Crosby, Jefferson Airplane and many more.

Michael Shrieve also composes music for film and television. He worked with director Paul Mazursky in the film The Tempest and scored music for Curtis Hanson's The Bedroom Window, as well as numerous television movies and shows.

Michael's career as drummer/percussionist, writer/composer and producer has been long and adventurous. He has been a genre-blending explorer throughout his musical life. Michael's solo projects and collaborations with world-class musicians will always continue to shine.

Carlos Santana stated, "Some drummers only have chops, but Michael Shrieve has vision. Michael is like a box of crayons; he has all the colors." Michael Shrieve was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1998.

The Otarion Showcase lineup for 2007 has also been announced. Festival Director Mike Megaffin said, "This is a very important part of our Festival. This year we have such a diverse lineup. It's wonderful to see such talent. Everyone wins." The Otarion Showcase features Jordan Bruleigh (Sydney, CB), Derek King (Saint John, NB), Chris Kavanagh (St. John's, NF), Lonnie Jones (Donkin, CB), Dylan Mombourquette (Sydney, CB), Ben Duinker (Halifax, NS), Katie Patterson (Truro, NS), and Steve Wilton (New Waterford, CB). There will also be a special guest appearance by The Heartbeats. The Membertou 3D Drum Circle will open the Festival the morning of Saturday April 28, 2007.

The Cape Breton International Drum Festival-April 28th and 29th, 2007.

For details visit
Or phone:

1 902 727 2337 Bruce & Gloria Jean Aitken

1 902 826 1316 Mike Megaffin

Tickets On Sale Now At Select-A-Seat Or Direct Online From The Savoy Theatre, Glace Bay.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print