Best Design Website Trends Detailed in New Report from the Web Marketing Association

Share Article

New Web Marketing Association' Internet Standards Assessment Report Includes Historical Data Derived from a Decade of Hosting Internet Award Competition, WebAwards, and Provides Best Practices for Design Websites - The Web Marketing Association, host of leading website awards competition WebAwards, released the Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR) to help the design industry create more effective and engaging websites.

"As the standard of excellence for websites continues to increase, consumers (and WebAward judges) are increasingly picky about what they consider to be an effective website," said William Rice, president of the Web Marketing Association, Inc. "Design websites tend to push the envelope when it comes to innovation and adapting new concepts for display on their websites."

The WebAwards competition judges design websites on seven criteria that combined create award-winning websites:

  • Design
  • Innovation
  • Content
  • Technology
  • Interactivity
  • Copywriting
  • Ease of use

Design websites are typically in line with the overall ISAR Index for Web Development.

Design websites have generally met or exceeded the average for eight of the past ten years.

Surprisingly, their design scores are below the overall ISAR average. In fact, all of their criteria scores, with the exception of innovation, are below the 3-year ISAR criteria averages.

The 2006 WebAward for Best Design Website went to Publicis Net for Experience Wonder You.

Other past winners include:

  • 2005 R/GA for the Nokia Nseries Sitelet
  • 2004 Gigapixel Creative
  • 2003 Arnold Worldwide for the Touareg
  • 2002 PriceWeber, Inc for Canadian Mist Website
  • 2001 Hillmancurtis, Inc for

A complete list of past winners can be found at

Companies and organizations wishing to have their design website evaluated against the ISAR Index and be considered for a WebAward, which can help boost a Website's credibility and marketing efforts, can learn more at

To request your copy of the 2007 WebAward ISAR report, please visit:

The Internet Standards Assessment report and the 2007 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organiztions: Burst Media, PRWeb, Misukanis & Odden, Small Army, SimpleFeed, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, NewsUSA, eComXpo, MediaPost's OMMA conference, TopRank Online Marketing, Creative Chocolate Printing Company, OTOlabs, Internet World UK, Search Engine Strategies, Webmaster Radio, Rovion's InPerson and eMarketer.

2007 WebAward Call for Entries

The Web Marketing Association is now accepting entries into its 11th annual international WebAward Competition. The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets industry benchmarks that the Internet Standards Assessment report is based upon. The design industry represents an important category in the WebAward competition, and the Web Marketing Association will again be honoring the Best Design Web site of 2007. The deadline for entry is May 31, 2007 and the WebAward Web site is located at

About the WebAwards

Now in its 11th year, the annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industry categories by evaluating Web sites and defining benchmarks based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The goal of the Web Marketing Association, sponsor of the WebAwards, is to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective Web sites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Web site assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Email >
Visit website