Rob Corddry Returns to Host 11th Annual Webby Awards in June 2007

Share Article

Webbys also tap Corddry to emcee first-ever Webby Film and Video Awards.

Comedian Rob Corddry will perform double duty this year when he serves as host for two Webby Awards ceremonies, The 11th Annual Webby Awards gala and the first-ever Webby Film and Video Awards this coming June, organizers announced today.

Hailed as the "Oscars of the Internet" by the New York Times, The Webby Awards is the leading international awards for Websites, interactive advertising, online film and video, and mobile sites. The star-studded Webby Awards brings out a diverse cross-section of Internet luminaries each year including past attendees Vice President Al Gore, music legend Prince, Arianna Huffington and the founders of MySpace, Craigslist, and Flickr.

The star of Fox's new sitcom "The Winner" and a former correspondent for "The Daily Show", Corddry will be returning for the third consecutive year to host The 11th Annual Webby Awards, which will take place on Tuesday, June 5th at Cipriani Wall Street (55 Wall Street) in New York City.

Corddry will also emcee the first-ever Webby Film and Video Awards, the world's first major awards honoring original film and video premiering on the Internet. The new awards, which will be judged by entertainment industry leaders such as Harvey Weinstein and Showtime's Matt Blank, will be handed out the prior evening, Monday, June 4th, at New York City's New World Stages (340w. 50th St.).

As host, Corddry will be responsible for ensuring that all winners stick to the Webby Awards' famous five-word speech limit. Speeches by past winners like Al Gore ("Please don't recount this vote."), Prince ("Everything you've heard is true."), and Arianna Huffington ("Darlings, make blogs not war.") have made headlines around the world.

"Rob has become a bit of a Webby institution," said David-Michel Davies, executive director of The Webby Awards. "He's helped make The Webby Awards one of the most fun, entertaining, and unpredictable awards shows anywhere."

The Webby Awards is presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts & Sciences, a global organization with over 550 members including musician David Bowie, Virgin Group founder Richard Branson, Internet inventor and Google Chief Internet Evangelist Vinton Cerf, "Simpsons" creator Matt Groening, Real Networks CEO Rob Glaser, and fashion designer Max Azria.

For more information on The Webby Awards, please visit

About The Webby Awards:

Called the "Oscars of the Internet" by the New York Times, the Webby is the leading international award honoring excellence in Web design, creativity, usability and functionality. Established in 1996, the 10th Annual Webby Awards received over 5,500 entries from all 50 states and over 40 countries worldwide. The Webby Awards is presented by The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences. Sponsors and Partners of The Webby Awards include: Adobe; The Creative Group; Verizon; AOL Video; dotMobi; Level3; Adweek; Fortune; Variety; Wired; IDG: Brightcove; PricewaterhouseCoopers; 2advanced.Net; KobeMail and Museum of the Moving Image.


Gita Chandra, gita(at)

Patrick Kowalczyk, patrick(at)

MKPR, 212.627.8098


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Gita Chandra

Email >
Visit website