Best Faith-based Web Site Trends Detailed in New Report From the Web Marketing Association

Share Article

New Web Marketing Association' Internet Standards Assessment Report Includes historical data derived from a decade of hosting Internet Award Competition, WebAwards, and provides best practices for Faith-based web design.

The Web Marketing Association, host of leading web site awards competition WebAwards, released the Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR) to help the faith-based industry learn to create more effective and engaging web sites.

"As the standard of excellence for web sites continues to increase, consumers (and WebAward judges) are increasingly picky about what they consider to be an effective web site," said William Rice, president of the Web Marketing Association, Inc. "Faith based sites are where users turn for information about their or another's faith. In addition, it is also another example of how the Internet has built communities through online networks. Many faith-based sites are strong in social media, offering user generated content to their advantage."

The WebAwards competition judges faith based web sites on seven criteria that combined create award-winning web sites:

  • Design
  • Innovation
  • Content
  • Technology
  • Interactivity
  • Copywriting
  • Ease of use

Faith-based sites actually compare very closely to the overall criteria standards.

According to the ISAR study, faith-based web sites were above average in design, innovation, content, interactivity, copywriting and ease of use. They are at average in terms of integrating technology.

The 2006 WebAward for Faith-based web site went to the Dallas Theological Seminary for the Dallas Theological Seminary Web site.

Other past winners include:

  • 2005 Biola University for Talbot School of Theology web site
  • 2004 PhotoMission Inc. for A Worldwide Community of Christian Photographers

Companies and organizations wishing to have their faith Web site evaluated against the ISAR Index and be considered for a WebAward, which can help boost a Web site's credibility and marketing efforts, can learn more at

To request your copy of the 2007 WebAward ISAR report, please visit:

The Internet Standards Assessment report and the 2007 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: Burst Media, PRWeb, Misukanis & Odden, Small Army, SimpleFeed, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, NewsUSA, eComXpo, MediaPost's OMMA conference, TopRank Online Marketing, Creative Chocolate Printing Company, OTOlabs, Internet World UK, Search Engine Strategies, Webmaster Radio, Rovion's InPerson and eMarketer.

2007 WebAward Call for Entries
The Web Marketing Association is now accepting entries into its 11th annual international WebAward Competition. The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets industry benchmarks that the Internet Standards Assessment report is based upon. The faith-based industry represents an important category in the WebAward competition, and the Web Marketing Association will again be honoring the Best Faith Web site of 2007. The deadline for entry is May 31, 2007 and the WebAward Web site is located at

About the WebAwards
Now in its 11th year, the annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industry categories by evaluating Web sites and defining benchmarks based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The goal of the Web Marketing Association, sponsor of the WebAwards, is to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective Web sites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Web site assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Email >
Visit website