Flashforward Announces Film Festival Finalists and Opening of 'People's Choice' Voting

Share Article

People's Choice Voting opens online as sixty finalists announced for the Flashforward Film Festival in Boston.

The Flashforward Conference & Film Festival today announced sixty finalists in fifteen categories vying for the Big Orange Rubber Arrow. The finalists, who hail from a dozen countries, will find out who won and collect awards at the live Flashforward Film Festival ceremony on September 19th in Boston. The Flashforward Film Festival showcases the best in Flash® design and development from around the world. This year's finalists include the best new work from well-known, award-winning teams as well as work from a number of fresh new firms and individuals. Work is nominated by the creative community and finalists are chosen by a panel of expert judges. View the sixty finalists at http://www.flashforwardconference.com/finalists

The 16th prize, the People's Choice Award, honors a project chosen by the global internet community from among the sixty Flashforward Film Festival finalists. To cast your vote for the People's Choice Award go to http://www.flashforwardconference.com/peoples_choice

"Every year the work submitted to the Flashforward Film Festival--and this is our 17th--pushes every limit--technical, creative, and conceptual," said Lynda Weinman, CEO, lynda.com events, Inc. "Viewing the best work in the industry while surrounded by dedicated Flash designers and developers has become the highlight of the Flashforward Conference. I'm always amazed by the quality of the work and the ideas that have been implemented--it's inspiring!"

Flashforward Film Festival judges are chosen in advance of the Festival judging process. Festival nominations are judged in two rounds, by two separate panels of judges. None of the judges evaluated their own work. This ensures that each finalist has won the approval of several experienced and aesthetically diverse perspectives. Judges for the 17th Flashforward Film Festival were: Chris Allen, Aral Balkan, Jacob Bullock, Sandro Corsaro, Renée Costantini, Alec Cove, Loc Dao, Steven de la Torre, Peter Elst, Jared Ficklin, Chris Georgenes, Chafic Kazoun, Mario Klingemann, Jay Laird, Seb Lee-Delisle, Marc Leuchner, Tony MacDonell, Niqui Merret, Dominic Minns, Garrett Nantz, Chad Perkins, John Say, Dave Schroeder, Daniel Schutzsmith, Rich Shupe, Aaron Simpson, Colin Smith, Bill Spencer, David Stiller, Ben Stucki, Jeremy Thorp, Drew Trujillo, and Carlos Ulloa.

Here are the 60 Finalists, four in each category:
Art: Autoimmune, Creep, Tired City, and Violet.
Cartoon: A.D.D. Jane, Congo Windfall, 30 shorts in 30 days, and Welcome to Tangoland!
Commerce: Cicatriz Clothing, IP Casino Resort Spa, Nike Air, and Showtime for Your Brand.
Experience: Get the Glass, Nokia Presents: The Passenger, Red Universe, and Slave Narratives.
Game: Bible Fight, CDX, ESPN 360 Bar Sports, and Oban Star Racers.
Instructional: Adobe Creative License, BrainPOP, A Taste for Health, and That Guy.
Motion Graphics: Adobe - The Creative Mind, Flash Tenth Anniversary, Plug-in Media, and Teddies in Space.
Narrative: Clara Collins, NFB - Filmmaker in Residence, Paulo Coelho - Alchemist of Words, and When The Hulk Attacks.
Navigation: Burst Labs, LAB | Mathieu Badimon, Oneover, XRS New Media
Online Application: Kid's Cold Aid, Line Rider, and Try On A Floor, Viscosity.
Original Sound: Extreme Pamplona, Hungry Suitcase, Move the Crowd, and Pjotro.
Technical Merit: APE (Actionscript Physics Engine), Finetune Player Collection, Grindhouse, and Spiderman 3 Game.
3D: Bergmann Metallbau, Nitro Circus, Papervision3D, Who Killed Travolta?
Typography: Javier Ferrer Vidal, Musical Theatre in Gdynia, Organic Grid, and Vision Streetwear.
Video: Criss Angel - Mind Freak, Schmancy Schmashup Game, Sherpa Cam Interactive Video, and Toyota Yaris Virtual Test Drive.

To view the finalists and to vote for the People's Choice Award visit http://www.flashforward.com/finalists

About the Flashforward Film Festival
The 17th Flashforward Film Festival honors the best Adobe® Flash® work on the web. Nominated by the public and judged by a panel of Flash experts, all finalists are eligible for the People's Choice award. The Flashforward Film Festival culminates in a live awards ceremony, held during the Flashforward2007 Boston Conference. Finalists' work is showcased at the ceremony resulting in 15 professionally judged winners and the People's Choice award, determined by a public online vote. Winners receive the prestigious "Big Rubber Arrow" representing the best in state-of-the-art Flash design and development for the web, from around the world and within the Flash community. September 19-21, 2007 Boston Marriott Copley Place.

For more information or to nominate work http://www.flashforwardconference.com/about_festival

Flashforward Sponsors
Flashforward2007 Boston is supported by key industry partners led by Platinum Sponsor, Adobe; Gold Sponsor, Quark; Silver Sponsor, Revolver; Internet Lounge and King's Party Sponsor, Walt Disney Internet Group; Opening Night Party Sponsor, Arnold; Expo-Sure Time Party Sponsor, Thumbplay; Bookstore Sponsor, Peachpit; Job Fair Presenting Sponsor, Imc2; WiFi Sponsor, Influxis, and; Media Sponsors, TechTracker, ProductionHUB, and Netdiver.

For more information http://www.flashforwardconference.com/sponsors


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lynda.com events, Inc.
Visit website