Swing Along to the Big Band Sounds of Buck Howdy and BB's Brand New CD 'Chickens' -- Available September 25, 2007

Share Article

Buck Howdy, one of family music's most acclaimed recording artists, partners with his cowgirl sidekick BB to release a brand-new collection of tunes that will have the whole family bopping along to jazzy big band sounds. Chickens, offering up a barnyard full of original and favorite Western swing-style family tunes, will be available from Prairie Dog Entertainment on September 25, 2007 ($13.99).

Buck Howdy, one of family music's most acclaimed recording artists, partners with his sidekick BB to release a new CD, "Chickens." This brand-new barnyard full of original and favorite Western swing=style tunes will have the whole family bopping along to jazzy big band sounds. Chickens is available at Amazon.com, Buckhowdy.com and varioius retailers today ($13.99).

BB is the rootin' tootin' -est cowgirl around, and she has lent her bright harmonies to live Buck Howdy concerts for years. Now, BB makes the 15 songs on Chickens fly, sharing lead vocals with Buck on several tunes. Buck even tries out the trombone for some tunes. The first track, "Hoe Down," sets the high-energy Western swing style vibe for the album, and peppy tunes like the title track "Chickens" and "Shake It Off" will get every toe tapping. A full horn section and multiple layers of sound on every song will impress fans of American roots music. The style has been compared to that of Lyle Lovett, Asleep at the Wheel and Bob Wills, all the while expressing Buck Howdy's trademark zany sensibilities and BB's sassy backtalk. If there hasn't been enough barn raising by the end of the CD, the surprise bonus track will encourage more spontaneous arm flapping and knee slapping.

Buck Howdy is a real cowboy farmer who has performed at the Grand Ole Opry and the White House and in hundreds of concerts at schools, state fairs and performing arts centers from coast to coast. He's been described as "the nexus of Roy Rogers, Will Rogers and Mr. Rogers, with a little Shrek thrown in for fun." His music videos are in regular rotation with Noggin TV. Buck has two other award-winning family CDs, Skidaddle! (MCA Records) and Giddyup (Prairie Dog), both of which have earned him a place in the pantheon of artists creating hip music that appeals across the generations. Buck's new shows are all with BB, an accomplished vocalist and actress who has appeared in several national television programs and commercials, including an Emmy award-winning CBS-TV movie with June Lockhart. She has been a part of Buck Howdy shows and recordings for a few years, and audiences respond enthusiastically when BB is on stage. Now riding the range side by side, the duo plan a busy performance schedule this fall and winter, including gigs in California, Arizona, Texas and Seattle (see http://www.buckhowdy.com/live-shows.html).

Chickens will be available from http://www.buckhowdy.com and various retailers, including Amazon.com, CDBaby.com and iTunes. Suggested retail price is $13.99. Buck and BB's special brand of Western humor can be heard weekly on Cow Pie Radio, a syndicated family musical variety show heard on more than 30 local radio stations nationwide and on XM Satellite Radio. For more information, music videos and a free visit to the Buck Howdy Fun Barn, go to http://www.buckhowdy.com.

Track listing - CHICKENS
1.     Hoe Down
2.     Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens
3.     Wiggle, Waggle, Wave
4.     You Are My Sunshine
5.     Woulda, Coulda, Shoulda
6.     Are You Havin' Any Fun?
7.     Chickens
8.     Can't Imagine
9.     Friends
10.     I'm My Own Grandpa
11.     Granny
12.     Yakety Yak
13.     Shake It Off
14.     Swinging in the Saddle
PLUS! Bonus Track

EDITORS: Buck Howdy and BB are available for interviews. For a tell-all Q and A with the artists and JPEG art, please contact Beth at bethpr@msn.com or visit

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author


Beth Blenz-Clucas
Visit website