The International Women's Media Foundation's 18th Annual Courage in Journalism Awards to be held in New York on October 23rd

Share Article

Advance Media Approval Is Required. Please fax your request on a company letterhead to Dharmata Public Relations at (213) 232-3704

The International Women's Media Foundation's 18th Annual Courage in Journalism Awards to be held in New York on October 23rd

Lydia Cacho, of Mexico, correspondent for CIMAC news agency and feature writer for Dia Siete magazine in Mexico. Serkalem Fasil*, of Ethiopia, former co-owner and publisher of the weekly newspapers Asqual, Menelik and Satenaw. Six Iraqi women journalists of McClatchy's Baghdad bureau: Huda Ahmed, Shatha al Awsy, Sahar Issa**, Alaa Majeed, Zaineb Obeid and Ban Adil Sarhan.

The IWMF will also present its Lifetime Achievement Award to Peta Thornycroft a renowned journalist from Zimbabwe.

Vartan Gregorian, president, Carnegie Corporation of New York, is event chair. Bloomberg News is the New York Presenting Sponsor. Bank of America is the national presenting sponsor of the Courage in Journalism Awards.

Caroline Kennedy, Bob Woodruff of ABC, Soledad O'Brien of CNN, and Gail Collins of The New York Times will present awards.

Tuesday, October 23, 2007, 12 noon luncheon & awards ceremony

Waldorf-Astoria Hotel / Grand Ballroom

*Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Africa-based correspondent for National Public Radio, will accept for Serkalem. Sahar Issa will accept for the McClatchy journalists.

**NO PHOTOS OF SAHAR. For more in-depth bios on the winners please visit:

Tickets can be purchased at

Awards will also be presented at ceremonies in Los Angeles on October 30, 2007. A reception/panel discussion with award winners will take place in Washington, D.C., on October 25, 2007.

The International Women's Media Foundation created the Courage in Journalism Awards in 1990 to honor women journalists who have shown extraordinary strength of character and integrity while reporting the news under dangerous or difficult circumstances. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose determination has paved the way for future generations of women in the media. The IWMF is a global network dedicated to strengthening the role of women in the news media worldwide as a means to further freedom of the press.

Melissa Kizer, (310)-422-9718 mobile, (310) 216-7895 office; or Beverly Doman (213) 706-9321 mobile,


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Beverly Doman

Melissa Kizer
Dharmata Public Relations, Inc.
Email >
Visit website