Southeastern Council of Foundations Names Board Members for 2008

Share Article

The Southeastern Council of Foundations (SECF) announces its 2008 Board of Trustees. The board includes two new trustees.

The Southeastern Council of Foundations (SECF), a membership association of grantmaking foundations and programs, announces its 2008 Board of Trustees. The board includes two trustees newly elected to a three-year term, six elected to a second three-year term and 13 continuing their current terms.

Newly elected trustees are:

  • Mr. H. Speer Burdette, III, President and General Manager, Callaway Foundation, LaGrange, GA. Mr. Burdette previously served as a Certified Public Accountant for J.K. Boatwright & Co. in LaGrange from 1979-2002. He serves on the board of numerous charitable organizations and is an elder of First Presbyterian Church. He received his bachelor degree in mathematics from Vanderbilt University and a master's degree in business administration (accounting) from the University of Alabama. Mr. Burdette and his wife Debbie have three children.
  • Ms. Nina M. Waters, President, The Community Foundation in Jacksonville, Jacksonville, FL. Prior to being named president in 2005, Ms. Waters served as Executive Vice President of the foundation for three years. Before joining the foundation staff, she was the executive director of PACE Center for Girls Jacksonville. She is a member of the Board of Governors of Jacksonville University and the Council of Foundations' National Task Force on Community Leadership, and she is President-Elect of the Community Foundations of Florida. She is a graduate of Jacksonville University. Ms. Waters and her husband Lex have one son.

Elected second term are:

  • Mr. Eugene (Gene) W. Cochrane, Jr., President, Duke Endowment, Charlotte, NC (Secretary/Treasurer)
  • Mr. H. Scott Davis, Jr., Trustee, Mildred V. Horn Foundation, Louisville, KY
  • Ms. Doyce H. Deas, Trustee, L. D. Hancock Foundation, Chair, Doyce H. Deas Foundation, Tupelo, MS
  • Mr. Thomas C. Keith, Executive Director, Sisters of Charity Foundation of South Carolina, Columbia, SC
  • Dr. Karen McNeil-Miller, President, Kate B. Reynolds Charitable Trust, Winston-Salem, NC
  • Ms. Allyson Rothrock, Assistant Executive Director, Harvest Foundation of the Piedmont, Martinsville, VA.

Continuing their terms on the SECF board are:

  • Mr. Peter F. Bird, Jr., President & CEO, The Frist Foundation, Nashville, TN (Chair)
  • Ms. Debra M. Jacobs, President & CEO, William G. Shelby & Marie Shelby Foundation, Sarasota, FL (Chair-Elect)
  • Mr. Handy L. Lindsey, Jr., Executive Director, The Cameron Foundation, Petersburg, VA (Vice-Chair)
  • Dr. Ted J. Alexander, CEO, Lower Pearl River Valley Foundation, Picayune, MS
  • Mr. Louie Buntin, CEO, Louie M. & Betty M. Phillips Foundation, Nashville, TN
  • Ms. Lesley Grady, Vice President, Community Foundation for Greater Atlanta, Atlanta, GA
  • Dr. Byron R. Harrell, President & CEO, Baptist Community Ministries, New Orleans, LA
  • Mr. William B. Johnson, President, Alabama Power Foundation, Birmingham, AL
  • Ms. Dot Neale, Corporate Community Relations Manager, IBM, Memphis, TN
  • Mr. C. Dennis Riggs, President & CEO, Community Foundation of Louisville, Louisville, KY
  • Ms. Suzanne Ward, Executive Director, Care Foundation, Inc., Springdale, AR
  • Mr. David D. Weitnauer, Executive Director, R. Howard Dobbs, Jr. Foundation, Atlanta, GA
  • Dr. Jan Young, Executive Director, The Assisi Foundation of Memphis, Memphis, TN.

The Southeastern Council of Foundations (SECF) is a membership association of grantmaking foundations and giving programs that promotes excellence throughout the field of philanthropy and the creation of new philanthropic resources to benefit the region. SECF membership consists of more than 360 grantmaking organizations, from 11 Southeastern states with approximately $30 billion in philanthropic assets.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website