20th Annual Freddie Awards Offer Frequent Fliers an Opportunity to Speak Their Minds; Freddie Awards Allow Travelers to Cast Votes For Best Frequent Travel Programs

Share Article

Frequent travelers from around the world are invited to cast a vote in the 20th Annual Freddie Awards, which are designed to award excellence among frequent travel programs in the airline, hotel and credit card industries.

Since 1989, InsideFlyer magazine has served as the primary sponsor of the Freddie Awards, and has partnered this year with Points.com, Award for Mortgages and Real Estate, Priority Pass, Executive Travel SkyGuide, ICLP and Loylogic to present the event for the 20th consecutive year.

This year's winners will be revealed on April 24, 2008 during the Freddie Award ceremony at the Wyndham Phoenix in Arizona. For the first time, the Freddie Awards will be held in conjunction with the Annual Frequent Travel Marketing Association's (FTMA) Spring conference.

"The FTMA Spring conference serves as the perfect complement to the Freddies, " said InsideFlyer Editor and Publisher Randy Petersen. "The Freddies are the most recognized awards for frequent travel programs and the FTMA is the leading trade organization for those who manage these programs. Last year, a record 439,000 frequent flyers cast ballots. This year, we expect that record will be broken."

Voters rate hotel, airline and credit card programs in nine categories: Program of the Year, Best Award, Best Bonus Promotion, Best Affinity Credit Card, Best Member Communications, Best Award Redemption, Best Elite-Level Program, Best Customer Service and Best Web Site.

The Freddie Awards are determined by value voting, a system in which voters rate the value of their program choices on a scale of one to 10. Programs with the highest average score and at least one percent of the popular vote in each category are awarded Freddies. In essence, Freddies are awarded for quality, not quantity.

The awards are named after the late Sir Freddie Laker (1922-2006) who attracted fame, and a knighthood in the United Kingdom, for his pioneering marketing ideas within the travel industry in the 1970s.

Freddie Award balloting is conducted entirely online at http://www.freddieawards.com. Voting concludes on February 29, 2008 at 11:59 p.m. MT.

The Freddie winners will also be announced in the May issue of InsideFlyer magazine and online at freddieawards.com.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website