Nominations for the 'Molly' -- a National Journalism Award Honoring Molly Ivins -- Deadline March 15

Share Article

The "Molly" will be awarded for an article or series of articles, including online work, that embodies the intelligence and passion that marked the work of the late Molly Ivins. An Awards Dinner at the Four Seasons Hotel in Austin, Texas, will be held on June 12, 2008, with tickets available to the public at $50 each. Sponsor tables seating 10 will be available at $2,500 and $1,000. The Guest Speaker will be Ellen Goodman. Calvin Trillin, with Ms. Goodman, is an honorary co-chair.

The Texas Observer and the Texas Democracy Foundation remind potential participants that the deadline for the "Molly" award submissions is March 15, 2008.
The second annual MOLLY is a national journalism prize honoring the indelible memory of our Molly Ivins. The prize will be awarded on June 12, 2008, at a dinner in Austin, Texas. Honorary co-chairs are Ellen Goodman and Calvin Trillin. The first MOLLY award was presented to Molly herself at an event held in her honor in the fall of 2006.

The MOLLY will be awarded for an article or series of up to four short, related articles or columns appearing in a U.S.-based publication in print or as part of an online magazine, telling the stories that need telling, challenging conventional wisdom, focusing on civil liberties and/or social justice, and embodying the intelligence, deep thinking and passionate wit that marked Molly's work. The second MOLLY will be awarded for work published in 2007. Although Molly can be never be replicated, we look for others following in her tradition.

First prize is a $5,000 cash award, plus the MOLLY, a statuette of Molly Ivins in regalia as the Statue of Liberty. Two $1,000 honorable mention prizes will also be awarded. A group of nationally prominent journalists will serve as final judges.

Complete guidelines for submitting an entry appear below and at this link:

For information on attending the awards luncheon, or to contribute to the MOLLY prize fund, please contact go to

  •      The MOLLY is an annual national print or online journalism award of $5,000 with two honorable mentions of $1,000 each to be presented by the Texas Democracy Foundation and The Texas Observer in memory and in honor of Molly Ivins. The first MOLLY was presented to Molly at a fundraiser in her honor in October 2006.
  •      All entries will be judged on the basis of either a single piece or a series of up to four related articles or columns. Judges will value work which reflects Molly's ability to look critically at the issues of the day with compassion and humor, tells the stories that need telling, challenges conventional wisdom and focuses upon civil liberties or social justice.


  •      Submissions must consist of material originally published in a U.S.-based publication between January 1, 2007, and December 31, 2007. One entry per individual will be accepted. Individual writers may enter on their own or be entered by the publication in which the work appeared. Multiple by-lines for a single entry are acceptable.
  •      Only hard copies of stories will be accepted. A cover sheet for each entry must give the following information: Author's Name and Contact Information, Publication Name and Publication Date.
  •      If submitting photocopies of published work, 8 1/2"x11" pages are preferred. If that requires great reduction of the print (as for a broadsheet), please provide a readable version of the story on 8 1/2"x11" pages with an additional photocopy of the story laid out in the publication. Award Finalists will be required to submit tear sheets of the original work.
  •      One copy of each entry should be mailed to:

The Texas Democracy Foundation
307 West 7th Street
Austin, TX 78701

  •      All entries must be postmarked by March 15, 2008 or earlier.
  •      Entry fee is $25.

Initial screening for the entries will be conducted by journalists from the Board of Advisors which governs the conducting of the award. Finalists and winners will be determined by an annually selected Executive Committee of the Board of Advisors.

An Awards Dinner at the Four Seasons Hotel in Austin, Texas, will be held on June 12, 2008, with tickets available to the public at $50 each. Sponsor tables seating 10 will be available at $2,500 and $1,000. The Guest Speaker will be Ellen Goodman.

Funding of the prizes, expenses of the Awards Dinner, and travel and lodging for winning journalists and guest speakers will be underwritten through a fund established by friends of Molly Ivins. Contributions are welcome.

BOARD OF ADVISORS (as of 1/8/2008)
Nate Blakeslee, Roy Blount, Jr., Robert Bryce, Ken Bunting, Wanda Cash, Patrick Cox, Greg Curtis, Lou Dubose, Ronnie Dugger, Doug Foster, Ellen Goodman, Wade Goodwyn, Steven Isenberg, Melissa Jones, Eden Lipson, Myra MacPherson, David McHam, Judith Davidson Moyers, Victor Navasky, Kaye Northcott, Larry Norwood, Karen Olsson, John Pope, Dan Rather, Geoff Rips, Matt Rothschild, Ben Sargent, Connie Schultz, Robert Siegel, Erna Smith, Paul Stekler, Mimi Swartz, Saralee Tiede, Calvin Trillin, and Jim Willse.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Julia Austin
Visit website