"Hollywood Trailer Awards" and "Hollywood Trailer Festival" Announced by the Hollywood Film Festival

Share Article

"Hollywood Trailer Awards" will honor the best in motion pictures previews

We are very excited that we will be recognizing the great art form of creation and production of film trailers

The 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival(r) and Hollywood Awards(r), presented by STARZ, announced today the launch of their "Hollywood Trailer Festival" and "Hollywood Trailer Awards." This is the first major festival honoring feature film previews. The announcement was made today by Carlos de Abreu, Founder and Executive Director of the festival.

"We are very excited that we will be recognizing the great art form of creation and production of film trailers," de Abreu said.

The "Hollywood Trailer Awards" and "Hollywood Trailer Festival" recognize creativity and innovation in feature film previews and they feature 12 categories: Best Action, Best Animation, Best Comedy, Best Documentary, Best Drama, Best Horror, Best Independent, Best Romance, Best Thriller, Most Original, Best Blockbuster and Best Trailer of the Decade. A panel of judges comprised of Hollywood notables will select the nominees and winners.

Entries are accepted monthly and the final deadline is October 1, 2008. Five nominees in each category will be announced on October 6, and the winners will be honored at a stand-alone event during the 12th Annual Hollywood Film Festival(r) and Hollywood Awards(r), which take place from October 22 to October 27, 2008, in Hollywood.

The 2008 Hollywood Film Festival(r) and Hollywood Awards(r) will take place at ArcLight Cinemas. The festival will highlight the films of emerging filmmakers, and the programming will include features, documentaries, shorts and animated films, as well as special events introducing the content for the "Hollywood Trailer Festival" and the nominees for the "Hollywood Trailer Awards."

Last year's industry professionals and Hollywood talent who were honored for their achievements at the 2007 Hollywood Awards(r) Gala Ceremony included Richard Gere, Marion Cotillard, John Travolta, Jennifer Connelly, Ellen Page and Casey Affleck for acting, the cast of "Hairspray" (John Travolta, Michelle Pfeiffer, Christopher Walken, Amanda Bynes, James Marsden, Queen Latifah, Brittany Snow, Zac Efron, Elijah Kelley, Allison Janney, and Nikki Blonsky) for ensemble acting; Ben Affleck and Marc Forster for directing, Craig Zadan and Neil Meron for producing, Christopher Hampton and Diablo Cody for screenwriting, "Ratatouille," directed by Brad Bird, for animation, Mark Isham for film composing, Stephen Goldblatt for cinematography, Joe Hutshing for editing, Scott Farrar for visual effects and Dante Ferretti for production design.

The festival and awards presenter is Starz Entertainment, LLC, a premium movie service provider operating in the United States. It offers 16 movie channels including the flagship Starz(r) and Encore(r) brands with approximately 15.8 million and 28.2 million subscribers respectively. Starz Entertainment airs more than 1,000 movies per month across its pay TV channels and offers advanced services including Starz HD, Starz On Demand and VongoSM. Starz Entertainment (http://www.starz.com) is an operating unit of Starz, LLC, which is a wholly owned subsidiary of Liberty Media Corporation that is attributed to Liberty Capital Group.

For more information go to: http://www.hollywoodtrailerawards.com/movietrailers/index.html

Festival Contact: Hollywood Trailer Festival
Phone: 310.288.1882


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Carlos Abreu

Email >
Visit website