American Statistical Association Announces 2008 Award Recipients

Share Article

The American Statistical Association (ASA), the nation's preeminent professional statistical society, today announced the winners of its prestigious annual awards. The winners will be honored on Tuesday evening, August 5, at the President's Address session of ASA's Joint Statistical Meetings in Denver. The list of awards and recipients follows. More information about JSM can be found at Presentations will be made at the Joint Statistical Meetings in Denver August 3--7

The American Statistical Association (ASA), the nation's preeminent professional statistical society, today announced the winners of its prestigious annual awards. The winners will be honored on Tuesday evening, August 5 at the President's Address session of ASA's 2008 Joint Statistical Meetings in Denver. The list of awards and recipients follows.

Outstanding Statistical Application Award
Established in 1986, the Outstanding Statistical Application Award recognizes a paper that is an outstanding application of statistics in any substantive field. The 2008 award winners are Tian Zheng, Columbia University; Matthew J. Salganik, Princeton; and Andrew Gelman, Columbia University, in recognition of their paper, "How many people do you know in Prison? Using overdispersion in count data to estimate social structure in networks."

Samuel S. Wilks Memorial Award
The Wilks Memorial Award was established in 1964 to honor the memory and distinguished career of Sam Wilks by recognizing outstanding contributions to statistics that carry on the spirit of his work. The 2008 Wilks Award will be presented to Scott L. Zeger of Johns Hopkins University, who is being honored for his outstanding contributions to statistics. The Wilks Award is made possible in part by a generous donation from Dr. Alexander Mood, a student of Dr. Wilks.

Deming Lecturer Award
The Deming Lecturer Award was established in 1995 to honor the accomplishments of Dr. W. Edwards Deming, recognize the accomplishments of the awardee, and enhance the awareness among the statistical community of the scope and importance of Deming's contributions. The 2008 recipient is Donald M. Berwick, MD, MPP, of the Institute for Healthcare Improvement in Cambridge, MA. Berwick was chose on the basis of his "extraordinary contributions to improving health care delivery and the human condition throughout the world through his visionary leadership, his passion for health care quality improvement, his appreciation of Dr. Deming's philosophy, and his application of statistical thinking."

Gottfried E. Noether Awards
The Noether Awards were established in 1999 by the wife and daughter of the late Professor Gottfried Emanuel Noether of Connecticut as a tribute to his memory. It recognizes distinguished researchers and teachers and supports research in nonparametric statistics. There are two Noether Awards given:

The Gottfried E. Noether Young Scholar Award winner for 2008 is Donglin Zeng, Department of Biostatistics, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

The Gottfried E. Noether Senior Scholar Award for 2008 winner is Madan L. Puri, Department of Mathematics at Indiana University Bloomington.

Outstanding Statistical Application Award
Each year, the ASA recognizes a paper what is an outstanding application of statistics in the physical, biological, or medical sciences. The 2007 winners of this award are Jeffrey Grogger, the University of Chicago, and Greg Ridgeway, Rand Corporation, in recognition of their paper, "Testing for Racial Profiling in Traffic Stops from Behind a Veil of Darkness." The paper helped diffuse the contentious battles over racial profiling in two cities where concerns over policing had resulted in court-ordered investigations of profiling.

W. J. Youden Award in Interlaboratory Testing
The W. J. Youden Award was established in 1985 to recognize publications that make outstanding contributions to the design and/or analysis of interlaboratory tests or that describe ingenious approaches to the planning and evaluation of data from such tests. This year's award will be presented to Andrew L. Rukhin of the University of Maryland and William E. Strawderman of Rutgers University in recognition of their paper, "Statistical aspects of linkage analysis in interlaboratory studies," published in Journal of Statistical Planning and Inference, 2007.

Edward C. Bryant Scholarship Trust Fund Award
The Bryant scholarship trust is a permanent scholarship fund endowed by Westat to honor its co-founder and long-time leader, Edward C. Bryant. The award honors an outstanding graduate student who is studying survey statistics. The 2008 scholarship recipient is Benmei Liu, University of Maryland in College Park.

Statistics in Chemistry Award
The purpose of the Statistics in Chemistry Award is to recognize outstanding collaborative endeavors between statisticians and chemists. This award is sponsored by the Chemometrics Committee of the ASA Section on Physical and Engineering Sciences (SPES). The winners are Cliff Spiegelman, William D. James and Simon J. Sheather, Texas A&M University; William A. Tobin; Stuart Wexler, Hightstown High School, East Windsor NJ; and D. Max Roundhill, Chem Consulting, Austin, TX. The citation for the award reads: Chemical and forensic analysis of JFK assassination bullet lots: Is a second shooter possible?

The SPAIG Award
The ASA established the SPAIG Award in 2002 to recognize outstanding partnerships established between academe and business, industry, and government organizations and to promote new partnerships. It is the only ASA award that recognizes organizations.

The 2008 SPAIG award will be given to the following organizations: North Carolina State University and GlaxoSmithKlein. The award cites "an outstanding partnership, which has resulted in:

  • Excellent training, mentorship, and work experience for Masters and PhD graduate students
  • Collaborations leading to publications and dissertation research on problems of interest to industry statisticians
  • Opportunities for financial support for hundreds of graduate students over the course of 25 years"

About the American Statistical Association
The American Statistical Association (ASA), a scientific and educational society founded in Boston in 1839, is the second-oldest continuously operating professional society in the United States. For more than 160 years, ASA has been providing its 18,000 members serving in academia, government, and industry and the public with up-to-date, useful information about statistics. The ASA has a proud tradition of service to statisticians, quantitative scientists, and users of statistics across a wealth of academic areas and applications. For additional information about the American Statistical Association, please visit the association's web site at or call 703.684.1221.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website