Leadership Excellence Announces Honors

Share Article

Leadership Excellence announces their 2008 honorees for Top Practitioners in the field of Leadership Development. Often, the practitioners within an organization are overlooked when awards and recognition are given. Leadership Excellence believes in people and the influence they have for building and growing leadership within their organizaions.

Each year, Leadership Excellence ranks the top leadership development programs and top thought leaders in the field of Leadership Development (LD). For the first time ever, Leadership Excellence announces the Top Practitioners in LD working in for-profit organizations.


"Recruiting and developing leadership is a top priority in any business. Beyond being a nice thing to do, it's now something you need to do," said Ken Shelton, who has been editor of Leadership Excellence magazine for 25 years. "In order to make LD part of a company's culture, those in charge of LD programs must be proactive in developing authentic leadership talent for their organization."

After considering hundreds of candidates, Shelton selected 135 individuals based on three criteria:
1)    They led a LD program of a for-profit organization, overseeing its design and implementation.
2)    They provided a meaningful experience for participants in their programs--meaning participants were prepared for and placed in leadership positions
3)    They achieved impressing business outcomes and positive ROI from the LD program.

The top practitioners in LD for 2008 are:

Alan Malinchak - ManTech U.
Alex Stiber - Schwan
Alicia Mandel - USOC
Alysa Parks, Maureen McDermott - CDW
Andrea Johnson - Home Depot
Andrew Noon - Mutual of Omaha
Angella Rosata - St. Thomas Health
Anne Nagy - Nationwide Ins.
Arlene Ferebee - GlaxoSmithKline
Audrey Goodman - Medco
Barbara Amone - UBS
Beau Parnell, Irada Sadykhova - Microsoft
Beverly Momsen - Chevron
Beverly Saunders - Atlantis Resort
Bill Robinson - Ontario Power
Bret Skousen - Black & Decker
Brian Wallace - HSBC Bank
Bryan Murphy, David Clark - Farmers Group
Camille Mirshokrai - Accenture
Carol Birt - Boise Cascade
Carol Pledger - Goldman Sachs
Cathy Gorman - Interstate Batteries
Cedric Coco - Lowe's
Cherlz Franz - Pfizer, Inc.
Chip Chesmore - John Deere
Christa Centola, David Letts - Raytheon
Clark Handy, Marianne Langlois - Convergys
Claire Schooley - Forrester Research
Cynthia McCague - Coca-Cola
Cyrus Devere - Panda Resturants
D'Anne Carpenter - Trinity Health
Daisy Ng - Darden Restaurants
Daniel J. Stewart - Kohls Corp.
Dave DeFilippo - Bank of N.Y. Mellon Asset Mgt
Dave Roberts - Western Union
David Clark - Nike
Deborah Exo, Elizabeth Rohlck - Herman Miller
Denise Smith-Hams - Genetech
Dermot O'Brien - TIAA-CREF
Diana Oreck - Ritz-Carlton
Diana Thomas - McDonald's
Eileen Rogers - Deloitte
Elizabeth Vales - Allstate Technology & Operations
Eric T. Hicks - JP Morgan Chase
Fabio Tonolini - Tenaris Univ.
Faye Richardson - Steelcase
Franklin Shaffer - Cross Country Healthcare
Gary Fisher, Peter Marchesini - InVentive Health
Greg A. Lee - Motorola
Heather Bock, Lori Berman - Howrey
Horacio Rozanski - Booz Allen Hamilton
Janet Baker - Aflac
Jayne Johnson, John Lynch - General Electric
Jeannie Milan - InsureMe
Jerry Moran, Tina Grove - Mohegan Sun
Jim Brolley - Harley-Davidson
Jim Heinz, Tim Fennell - Lockheed Martin
Jim Phelan, Kathy Koressel - Merck
John Christman - Genworth Financial
John Congemi - Best Buy
John Donnelly, Kathleen Goldreich - Citigroup
John Rooney - U.S. Cellular
John Schlembach - Aramco Services
John Shepherd - Mars
Jonathan Amy, Martha Brophy - Pricewaterhouse Coopers
Jose Conejos - Nokia
Judi Affek, Vickie Canon - 7-Eleven
Judith Edge - Fed Ex
Julie-Ellen Acosta - Boeing
Justin Lombardo - Northwestern Memorial Hospital
Karie Willyerd - Sun Microsystems
Karen Gay - Cirque du Soleil
Kate Martine, Lanny Hoel - Trustmark
Ken Kenner - BJ Services
Kenny Kinder, Mark Searcy - Coverall Cleaning Concepts
Kevin Peterson - Archer Daniels Midland
Kevin Wilde - General Mills
Kimberly Kelly, Susan Berg - Paychex
Ky C. Lewis III - Sharp Healthcare
Leon Ronzana - American Honda
Leslie Young - Bank of America
Lesley Hoare - Kimberly-Clark
Lisa Northup - Americredit
Linda O'Connell - Mayo Clinic
Lynne Zappone - InterContinental
Marc Reed, Shawne Angelle - Verizon
Marian Anderson - Washington Mutual
Martha Soehren - Comcast
Matt Schuyler - Capital One
Matthew Bertman - Pulte Homes
Michael Trusty - Rolls Royce
Mike Stafford - Starbucks
Moheet Nagrath - P&G
Nancy Brennock - Trexton
Pam Bilbrey - Baptist Health Care
Pat Crull - Time Warner
Patricia A. Bradford - Unisys
Pru Sullivan - Green Mountain Coffee
Ralph Schiavone - Malcolm Pirnie
Randy Krug - Hormel
Ray Stevens - Staples
Rebecca Ray - Mastercard
Richard Ames - Carnival
Robert Russcoe - Unisys
Ronald Glaser - Intl. Trade Admin.
Sally Levell - Tenet HealthSystems
Sari Brody - Ikea
Sharon Smart - Mattress Giant
Sherry Makely - Clarian Health
Stephen Hadlock - Wheeler Machinery
Susan Muehlbach - Northwest Airlines
Susan Skara - Watson Labs
Susan Suver - U.S. Steel
Suzanne Scott - Cisco
Tamar Elkeles - Qualcomm
Tamara Patrick - Whirlpool
Teresa Roche - Agilent
Tim Galbraith - Yum!Brands
Vicky Jones - GM Global LP
Vicky Rogers - Jet Blue Airlines

The list does not include practitioners from government, military, academic, or non-profit organizations; they will be ranked in the December 2008 issue of Leadership Excellence.

Each top practitioner selected will receive a certificate honoring their achievement, and their programs will be considered for the annual ranking of top LD programs in the October issue of Leadership Excellence.

For more information please visit the Leadership Excellence website http://www.leaderexcel.com

Nancy Low
Marketing and Media Director 801-877-250-1983


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Ken Shelton

Nancy Low

Email >
Visit website