Top Three Finalists Announced in 2008 Sponsorship Giveaway

Share Article

Manny Chaides of El Paso, Texas, Ric Kole of Southington, Ohio and Ed Kowalcyzk of Gilbert, South Carolina have been named the top three finalists in the 2008 Give Back to the Racers Sponsorship Giveaway, sponsored by Snap-on. Raceway Media's, the world's largest online motorsports marketplace, presents the annual Sponsorship Giveaway contest as a way of giving back to the grassroots racers who are at the heart of its membership.

Chaides, Kole and Kowalczyk received the most votes from fellow members who chose their favorite racer from among the 2008 Giveaway's 30 weekly winners. To choose their favorite racer, RacingJunk members viewed all 30 weekly winners' profiles on RJ RaceSpace, the social networking site, where the contenders posted pictures of their cars and wrote statements about why they should win. The finalists' profiles can all be accessed from the Giveaway Finalists webpage on the site, located at

The three finalists will now have to wait until December 12 to find out which one has won the $100,000 value Grand Prize, a 34-foot Haulmark stacker race trailer packed with custom storage and tools from Snap-on, plus racing equipment from our other Giveaway sponsors.

Chaides, Kole and Kowalczyk will be flown to Orlando, Florida to attend the Performance Racing Industry (PRI) Show, where the Grand Prize, second and third place winners will be named. The second and third prizes are $15,000 and $10,000 racing equipment packages featuring product from Giveaway sponsors Snap-on, Goodridge, AutoMeter, Lincoln Electric, RH2Way, Barry Grant, Champion System, Molecule, Simpson, Safety Solutions, Holley, Nitrous Express and Mickey Thompson.

Finalist Manny Chaides of El Paso, Texas joined in 2007. A lifelong racer, Chaides has been away from racing while recovering from a neck injury, but hopes to return to the sport soon. Ric Kole of Southington, OH has been racing for over 20 years. He currently races a '66 Nova and has been a member of since 2004. Finalist Ed Kowalcyzk of Gilbert, SC has been a RacingJunk member since 2004. A racer for 44 years, he currently races a '41 Willys Coupe.

The winners will be announced at 3 p.m. on Friday, December 12 at an awards ceremony at the booth (#1169) at the PRI Show. Gavin Jerome, PINKS Track Announcer and Official Spokesperson for, will serve as the Master of Ceremonies. In the meantime, plans for the 2009 Sponsorship Giveaway are well underway. The 2009 Giveaway will mark the third year running that has offered the Giveaway program to its members.

Raceway Media, LLC, a Boxcar Media, LLC company, is a multimedia publishing firm serving the racing and performance enthusiast industries. It is a free "one-stop shop" for those looking to buy, sell, trade, entertain or interact with people throughout the automotive and motorcycle racing and performance communities.

The company's holdings include and, which together receive more than 70 million page views per month and have more than 310,000 members. Raceway Media also owns,,, and the recently launched Raceway Media has also recently partnered with Snap-on to launch S-TECH (, a social networking site and online community for current and prospective transportation technology students, their instructors and professionals in the field.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website