Maine's Newest Superhero Hits the Stands in an All-Ages Graphic Novel Series

Share Article

Fans of classic adventure, meet Capt'n Eli! Created in the tradition of Flash Gordon, Buck Rogers, and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli is the story of a boy with extraordinary scientific abilities and unusual ties to the sea. Written and illustrated by Jay Piscopo of Portland, Maine, The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli all ages graphic novel series is distributed nationally to comic shops, book stores, and libraries through Diamond Comic Distributors.

The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli - Volume 1

Jay Piscopo's Capt'n Eli is a new, mutated form of manga crossed with Jonny Quest. It's delightful, well-written, and an all-around well-realized addition to the world of comic art.

Fans of classic adventure, meet Capt'n Eli! Written and illustrated by Jay Piscopo of Portland, Maine, The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli all ages graphic novel series is distributed nationally to comic shops, book stores, and libraries through Diamond Comic Distributors. This series was recently featured as the cover story of the national weekly newspaper Comic Shop News (see attached).

Created in the tradition of Flash Gordon, Buck Rogers, and 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea, The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli is the story of a boy with extraordinary scientific abilities and unusual ties to the sea.

Capt'n Eli's origins are quite unique! He's the namesake of real-life World War II veteran Eli Forsley who was also the inspiration for a line of hand-crafted sodas from Portland, Maine!. Read the story behind the story at: http://www.captneli.com/gnseries/storybehind.html

The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli is supported by creative marketing materials, including:

Capt'n Eli Collectible Card Game: Free trading card game depicting the characters in The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli and some of the vessels and gadgets they use. Distributed at schools, libraries, retail outlets, and conventions. Math curriculum tied to the game allows teachers to use the card game to teach 2nd to 4th grade math concepts.

Promotional comic book: Free 32-page comic book containing Capt'n Eli's origin story. This comic will be offered free of charge to schools as an extra fundraising component for school book fairs. We offer this school book fair program as part of our commitment to supporting schools and providing incentive for kids to read.

Activity placemat: The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli activity placemats distributed at family restaurants throughout New England. Nemo Publishing partnered with the Quaglia Institute for Student Aspirations to feature activities that foster conversation about what it means to be a hero.

About the series:
Author/Illustrator: Jay Piscopo
Publisher: Nemo Publishing, LLC

The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli - Volume 1
Paperback, 6x9, 104 Pages, Full Color - $9.99
ISBN 978-0-9817132-0-5
Pinups by Howard Chaykin, Herb Trimpe, and Steve Rude. Cover by Steve Rude.

The Undersea Adventures of Capt'n Eli - Volume 2
Paperback, 6x9, 112 Pages, Full Color -- $9.99
ISBN 978-0-9817132-1-2
Pinups by Herb Trimpe, Joe Zierman, and Lauren Monardo. Cover by Joe Zierman.

Volume 3 will be released in January 2009.
ISBN 978-0-9817132-2-9

About the author:
Jay Piscopo has been making state-of-the-art children's entertainment for 15 years. His passion for using the computer as his canvas has led him to develop his unique signature style of combining 2D characters with 3D backgrounds.

Piscopo served as an art director at Tom Snyder Productions, where he led the creative team in the production of educational CD-ROMs, including the award-winning Fizz and Martina Math Adventures, distributed nationally in tens of thousands of schools around the United States. While at Tom Snyder Productions, Jay also worked as an animator on the ABC Saturday morning show Squigglevision.

Prior to joining Tom Snyder, Piscopo was co-creator of the internationally distributed comic book series featuring the world's first disabled superheroes, The Scrap City Pack Rats, which he created in partnership with Goodwill Industries. Together, they published a 6 issue series which received national media attention for its groundbreaking approach and subject matter.
Piscopo has taught cartooning to middle and high school students at the Maine College of Art and has been a visiting artist at a number of organizations, including: Bates College, Portland Public Schools, St. Jude's Children's Hospital, Spurwink, and Pine Tree Camp for Disabled Youth. He resides in his home town of Portland, Maine.

Quotes:
"Capt'n Eli is a rarity in today's marketplace: an all-ages series that is truly all ages…" -- Cliff Biggers, Comic Shop News

"Here's the amazing thing about Capt'n Eli -- it's like an old-time comic book. Classic, but not retro -- and it works. This well-told tale with its cast of interesting and provoking characters is indeed an epic." -- Herb Trimpe, Legendary Comics Illustrator

"Jay Piscopo's Capt'n Eli is a new, mutated form of manga crossed with Jonny Quest. It's delightful, well-written, and an all-around well-realized addition to the world of comic art." -- Roy Thomas, Renowned Marvel Comics Editor and Writer

"The artwork is refreshingly different. It's a mixture of traditional hand-drawn art and 3D artwork…The artist has done an excellent job… creating an exciting and imaginative world underwater that's waiting for Eli to explore." -- Moya Dawson, Paperback Reader

http://www.captneli.com

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

TAMI KENNEDY
Visit website