J the S Honors Hip Hop with My Will

Share Article

J the S Honors Hip Hop with My Will -- New Prelude Album Featuring B.o.B., Saigon, Kool G Rap, Emilio Rojas, Donny Goines and more

As Hip Hop artists continue to innovate and inspire today's popular music, the vein of true school values still pulses forcefully in Hip Hop's independent scene. Boston lyricist J the S (aka Jake the Snake) has built a reputation for his consistent delivery and solid songwriting abilities, and is ready to show and prove once again with his new street project My Will. Slated for release on January 20, 2009, My Will serves as a prelude to his upcoming official album The Last Days.

Presented by Boston's Peter Parker and Los Angeles' DJ Warrior, My Will brings J the S together with some of his most astute peers in the rap game, including the legendary Kool G. Rap; Brooklyn mic-wrecker Saigon; Atlantic Records' Atlanta-based phenom B.o.B.; buzzing lyrical stylists Emilio Rojas and Donny Goines; and J the S' own Boston-based crew The Greater Good.

The project is chock full of stunning original production from the likes of Stu Bangas, The Returners, Special Blend, Conquest, Matty Trump, Raf Moses, MGI and more fresh talent.

In late 2008, J the S released three key tracks from My Will: the title track "My Will" produced by Raf Moses; "My Thing" featuring Donny Goines and Emilio Rojas, produced by The Returners; and "Another Round" (with accompanying video) featuring B.o.B., produced by Conquest. Reaction from critics and fans alike was positive, setting up the perfect anticipation for the project's release in January '09.

"My Will is a complete project to me," explains J the S. "This is a collection of songs with concepts and direction, not freestyles about the same ol' same. It represents a segue for me into my upcoming album The Last Days, as that album will be a step into a new realm, into a more musical, different sound. My Will gives listeners a look into my world through the more familiar form of Hip Hop we all know and love."

With limitless possibilities before him, Jake stays firmly grounded as an active member of his community, giving back whenever he can. Consequently, he incorporates his views on politics and the ever-changing social climate into his lyrics. As he grows as a songwriter, J the S intends on branching out with his sound for future projects. Meanwhile, he is offering My Will as a testament to his dedication to the traditional boom bap.

"My Will represents me as a person," J the S expresses. "I give myself to the listener through personal lyrics and topics that mean something to me... and should mean something to the listener, because they're issues we all have to deal with. The range of songs also shows my range as a person, and the different elements of my life. Each track will give you insight into what I stand for and who I am."

For more information on J the S, go to http://www.tygereye.net/jthes and http://www.myspace.com/jtheshiphop

For interviews and press information, contact dove@tygereye.net

My Will Tracklist

1. Intro
2. My Will - prod by Raf Moses
3. Oil f/ Saigon & Rich Rivera - prod by MGI
4. Whatever You Need - prod by Reality
5. Anywhere f/ The Greater Good - prod by Special Blend
6. Automatic - prod by Stu Bangas
7. My People - prod by Guns N Butter
8. My Thing f/ Donny Goines & Emilio Rojas - prod by The Returners
9. Burnin' The Flag f/ Kool G Rap - prod by Stu Bangas
10. Another Round f/ B.o.B. - prod by Conquest
11. In n Out f/ Lord Touch - prod by Matty Trump
12. The Violence f/ Phinelia, BR, Amadeus The Stampede - prod by Matty Trump
13. Beat Dreams Freestyle
14. Self Control f/ Vietdom - prod by DJ Ings
15. These Tales - prod by Charlie G


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website