21st Annual Freddie Awards Offer Frequent Flyers an Opportunity to Speak Their Minds

Share Article

Freddie Awards Allow Travelers to Cast Votes For Best Frequent Travel Programs

The FTMA Spring conference serves as the perfect complement to the Freddies

Frequent travelers from around the world are invited to cast a vote in the 21st Annual Freddie Awards, which are designed to award excellence among frequent travel programs in the airline, hotel and credit card industries.

Since 1989, InsideFlyer magazine has served as the primary sponsor of the Freddie Awards, and has partnered this year with Points.com, Priority Pass, ICLP, Loylogic and Executive Travel SkyGuide to present the event for the 21st consecutive year.

This year's winners will be revealed on April 23, 2009 during the Freddie Award ceremony at the Hilton Fort Lauderdale Airport in Florida. Once again, the Freddie Awards will be held in conjunction with the Annual Frequent Travel Marketing Association's (FTMA) Spring conference.

"The FTMA Spring conference serves as the perfect complement to the Freddies," said InsideFlyer Editor and Publisher Randy Petersen. "The Freddies are the most recognized awards for frequent travel programs and the FTMA is the leading trade organization for those who manage these programs. Last year, a record setting 629,000 frequent flyers cast ballots. This year, we expect to attract a similar number of voters, if not more."

Voters rate hotel, airline and credit card programs in nine categories: Program of the Year, Best Award, Best Bonus Promotion, Best Affinity Credit Card, Best Member Communications, Best Award Redemption, Best Elite-Level Program, Best Customer Service and Best Web Site.

The Freddie Awards are determined by value voting, a system in which voters rate the value of their program choices on a scale of one to 10. Programs with the highest average score and at least one percent of the popular vote in each category are awarded Freddies. In essence, Freddies are awarded for quality, not quantity.

The awards are named after the late Sir Freddie Laker (1922-2006) who attracted fame, and a knighthood in the United Kingdom, for his pioneering marketing ideas within the travel industry in the 1970s.

Freddie Award balloting is conducted entirely online at freddieawards.com. Voting concludes on February 28, 2009 at 11:59 p.m. MT.

The Freddie winners will also be announced in the May issue of InsideFlyer magazine and online at http://www.freddieawards.com.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website