The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life By Ben Sherwood

Share Article

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE THE SURVIVORS CLUB The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life By Ben Sherwood Grand Central Publishing Hardcover Publication Date: January 26, 2009 $25.99 400 pages ISBN: 0-44-658024-4 ISBN13: 9-780-446-58024-3

what we all wonder: Do I have what it takes to survive? The riveting answers are all here.

ADVANCE PRAISE FOR THE SURVIVORS CLUB:

"[The] stories are gripping, to put it mildly, and Sherwood is enough of a storyteller to maintain the narrative pace throughout…The protagonists may have stayed calm, but these stories of cheating the reaper are crazy wild."
                                                            - Kirkus Reviews

Everyone knows times are tough. People across America are struggling. It's unfortunate but true: Every hour of the day, 136 people lose their jobs in the recession and 80 families can't hold on to their homes. In addition to economic struggle, there are countless other challenges. Every hour, 330 people are injured in car crashes; 171 people are victimized by violent crime; and 160 people are diagnosed with cancer. Given these difficult times, we all wonder: Who survives and thrives and who doesn't? Who bounces back from the worst and who surrenders? And perhaps most important: What do survivors and thrivers know about beating the odds that we don't?

The fascinating answers to these questions are contained in the highly anticipated new book THE SURVIVORS CLUB: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life (Grand Central Publishing Hardcover; January 26, 2009; $25.99) by Ben Sherwood, former executive producer of ABC's Good Morning America and bestselling author. Grand Central Publishing will release the book in January 2009.

Tom Brokaw of NBC News hails THE SURVIVORS CLUB for giving voice to "what we all wonder: Do I have what it takes to survive? The riveting answers are all here." Dr. Mehmet Oz believes THE SURVIVORS CLUB captures "the wisdom of people who improbably survived the abyss of death." And Dr. Tim Johnson, medical editor of ABC News, says "For both my brain and my heart, THE SURVIVORS CLUB is a page-turner. And given the practical payoff, you probably shouldn't leave your bed without it!"

In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, THE SURVIVORS CLUB reveals the hidden side of life and death, including:
► Why some people are born more resilient than others
► Why regular religious observance can add as many as seven years to your life
► Why birthdays and holidays may be hazardous to your health
► Why some people really do have all the luck while others are more accident prone

Ultimately, THE SURVIVORS CLUB explores: What does it really take to overcome life's greatest challenges? And what kind of survivor are you? The book combines astonishing true stories, surprising scientific research, and the author's immersive experiences in the US military's most elite survival schools and the FAA's airplane crash evacuation course. In pursuit of the secrets of survival, Sherwood even underwent genetic testing to find out if he possesses the so-called Resilience Gene.

THE SURVIVORS CLUB also offers readers the opportunity to discover their own unique Survivor IQ. Each book comes with an access code to a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler, developed exclusively for THE SURVIVORS CLUB by one of the country's top research firms. The test takes only 15 minutes and generates a customized report on your unique survivor personality and top strengths. - available at http://www.TheSurvivorsClub.org.

Sherwood and an experienced Internet team are launching http://www.TheSurvivorsClub.org as a new website dedicated to helping people survive and thrive in the face of everyday adversity. Everyone knows the Web presents a blizzard of conflicting and confusing information and resources. TheSurvivorsClub.org (TSC) aims to solve this problem by offering trustworthy guides for overcoming health, financial and family crises. TSC provides quick and easy-to-use social media tools to encourage the support of family and friends. And TSC makes it simpler to connect with veteran survivors who can share critical information and insight.

TheSurvivorsClub.org is a social enterprise based in Los Angeles, California that will use advertising and other revenues to create the highest quality information and services. A share of earnings will also go to causes that promote survivorship. TheSurvivorsClub.org is forging new relationships with a variety of partners - non-profit and for-profit. For more information, please visit http://www.TheSurvivorsClub.org or email: Partners at TheSurvivorClub dot org.

Award-winning journalist Ben Sherwood served as executive producer of ABC's Good Morning America during the two most successful seasons in the show's 30 year history. A graduate of Harvard and Oxford, he is also the bestselling author of two novels: The Man Who Ate the 747 and The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and son.

http://www.thesurvivorsclub.org

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jimmy Franco

Elly Weisenberg
Visit website