All Killer No Filler

Share Article

Puma Wins Inmarsat Media Prize Again

Rick Deppe the media crew member (mcm) onboard Puma has once again beaten the competition to win the Inmarsat Media Prize for Leg 4. The hotly contested Inmarsat Trophy and cash prize recognises the vital role technology and the videographers (mcm) contribute to bringing the race closer to a global audience. Also nominated for the Prize sponsored by leading mobile satellite service provider, Inmarsat were Teams Ericsson, Gustav Morin onboard E3 and Guy Salter on E4.

British born Deppe, an experienced documentarian, has produced programmes for Disney and Discovery, and was hired as Director of Photography for Disney's 'Morning Light'. Rick was nominated on the first two legs of the race for the originality of his video filming which gave him the edge over the competition to go on and win the Prize for Leg 3 and now, Leg 4.

The 2,500 nautical mile race from Singapore to Qingdao was memorable for upwind pounding in gale force winds of 55 knots, rough seas, severe boat damage, a PUMA comeback and the gutsy determination of Green Dragon to reach China.

At the prize giving Knut Frostad, CEO of Volvo Ocean Race Management congratulated the MCMs on their significant efforts to maintain filming and filing copy on this unbelievably horrendous journey from Singapore to China and, for the flawless performance of FleetBroadband in such extreme conditions.

The Inmarsat Media Prize totals 20,000 euros. Each leg winner receives 1,000 euros for and at the final award ceremony in St Petersburg, Russia, an additional 10,000 euro prize will be awarded to the mcm judged to have made the best overall contribution to race coverage.

Chris Mclaughlin, Inmarsat's Vice President of External Affairs acknowledged that, "there is a big market for information about this race and the speed and production flow of material by the media crews is vital to keep a global audience up to date with news deployed across every media channel."

On Deppe's win Chris McLaughlin said: "Rick's footage is all killer no filler! His confidence with a camera and talent for putting together a story has produced some captivating images that embody the personality of this race. Rick brilliantly captured the drama of the Puma team battling the storm on a boat with no boom in extremely dangerous conditions ... the result is an outstanding piece of filming delivered under horrendous circumstance."

Once again, Gustav Morin and Guy Salter were strong nominees. Both men exude a passion for their work and while Gustav reveals almost visionary moments, Guy demonstrates a holistic approach to the unfolding dramas of life onboard. Guy captured the palpable disappointment of the crew when the bad news on the position reports came through while Gustav shared the terrifying moments onboard Ericsson 3 when there was a real possibility of sinking. The visual portrayals of the tension on board were exceptional.

Special mention must go to Guo Chuan, the MCM onboard Green Dragon who has enthusiastically embraced this rollercoaster challenge and his arrival in his home town, Qingdao, was a highlight of the stop over.

Past Leg winners of the Inmarsat Media Prize are:
Leg 1 Guy Salter/Ericsson 4,
Leg 2 Gabriele Olivo/Telefonica BLUE,
Leg 3 Rick Deppe/Puma.

FleetBroadband technology has elevated the race to a lifestyle event and the role of the videographer has maximised the value of the sponsorship invested in the teams by brands eager to bring their products and services to a global audience.

For further information on Inmarsat Media Prize, please contact: John Warehand, Inmarsat plc. Tel: +44 20 7728 1579 or, Shireen Crowe, Direct PR Tel: +44 20 7611 6308/+44 7879417177.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Warehand
Inmarsat plc
44 20 7728 1579
Email >
Visit website