2008 International Songwriting Competition (ISC) Finalists And Semi-finalists Announced

Share Article

The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is pleased to announce its 2008 finalists and semi-finalists. These talented songwriters were short listed from over 15,500 entries from more than 100 countries and represent all genres of contemporary music. For a complete list of 2008 ISC finalists and semi-finalists, please visit: http://www.songwritingcompetition.com/winners.htm

The International Songwriting Competition (ISC) is pleased to announce its 2008 finalists and semi-finalists. Selected out of over 15,500 entries from more than 100 countries, they represent all genres of contemporary music. ISC winners are chosen from the group of finalists and will be announced in April, 2009.

ISC, in its eighth year, is the largest international songwriting competition in the world, with 57% of its finalists and semi-finalists coming from outside the USA. ISC offers more categories, more cash and prizes, and the most prestigious judges of any music competition in the world.

ISC's judges include executives from 15 record labels and esteemed artists such as Tom Waits, Chaka Khan; Rob Thomas (Matchbox 20); Jerry Lee Lewis; Loretta Lynn; KT Tunstall; T-Pain; Robert Smith (The Cure); Ray Davies (The Kinks); McCoy Tyner; Ricky Martin; and many more. Over $150,000 in cash and merchandise will be awarded to 62 winners, including an Overall Grand Prize winner who receives $25,000 in cash (the largest cash Grand Prize of any songwriting competition in the world) and over $25,000 in prizes.

Candace Avery, Founder and Director of ISC, states "I'm always amazed at how many incredibly gifted songwriters there are in the world - from Australia to Kenya, Uruguay to Cuba, Scotland to South Korea - and everywhere in between. No matter what language the songs are in, the common denominator is that it's all about the song. That's what's really important, a great song."

The 2008 ISC finalists' songs are currently posted on the ISC website as part of the 2008 People's Voice - an online voting contest that allows the public to listen to and vote for their favorite ISC finalist. The winner of the People's Voice is selected solely by public vote and is in addition to, and completely separate from, the regular winners who will be selected by the prestigious ISC judging panel. To listen to the 2008 ISC finalists' songs and to cast your vote, visit: http://www.songwritingcompetition.com/PVWelcome2008.htm

The complete panel of 2008 judges include recording artists: Rob Thomas (Matchbox 20); Chaka Khan; Tom Waits; KT Tunstall; Robert Smith (The Cure); Ricky Martin; Loretta Lynn; Neil Finn (Crowded House); Buckcherry; T-Pain; James Cotton; Jerry Lee Lewis; Craig Morgan; Ray Davies (The Kinks); McCoy Tyner; Darryl McDaniels (Run DMC); Michael W. Smith; Chris Hillman (The Byrds); John Scofield; Mario; Black Francis (The Pixies); Youssou N'Dour; John Mayall; DJ Tiësto; Paul Van Dyk; Jon Secada; Natalie Grant; Jeremy Camp; Matt Thiessen (Relient K); Pittbull; Angelique Kidjo; "Weird Al" Yankovic; Sandra Bernhard; and David Brenner.

Also judging are industry executives Monte Lipman (President, Universal Records); Nick Burgess (Head of A&R, Virgin Records UK); Angel Carrasco (Sr. VP of A&R, Latin America Sony BMG and President, Discos 605); Cameron Strang (President, New West Records); John Echevarria (President, Universal Music Latino); Rick Krim (Executive VP Talent and Programming, VH1); Amy Doyle (Sr. VP of Music and Talent, MTV); Kim Buie (VP of A&R, Lost Highway); Jon Pikus (Director of A&R, MySpace Records); Mitchell Cohen (VP of A&R, Verve Music Group); Bruce Iglauer (Founder/President, Alligator Records); Dan Storper (President, Putumayo World Music); Rene Bell (Executive VP A&R, Sony BMG Nashville); Peter Strickland (Senior VP, Jack Records/Warner Bros.); Steve Lillywhite (Producer - credits include U2, The Rolling Stones, Morrissey, Peter Gabriel, and more); Douglas C. Cohn (Sr. VP, Music Marketing & Talent, Nickelodeon); Cory Robbins (Founder/President, Robbins Entertainment); Betty Pino (DJ, WAMR Miami); Paul Majors (CEO/Founder Majors Music); Leib Ostrow (CEO, Music for Little People); and Dr. Demento (Radio Host of The Dr. Demento Show).

2008 Sponsors include: Luna Guitars, Berklee College Of Music, Shure, D'Addario, M-Audio, Griffin Technology, Hear Technologies, Po Boy Drums, Thayers, Disc Makers, ASCAP, Phase One Studios, Stuph Merch, Sonicbids, Sam Ash, Alphabet Arm Design, Shari's Berries, Taxi, George Stein, Esq., The Music Business Registry, SongU.com, Sibelius, and Onlinegigs.

ISC is now accepting entries for 2009. For entry information, please go to: http://www.songwritingcompetition.com

International Songwriting Competition
1307 Eastland Ave_Nashville, TN 37206
Phone: 615.251.4441
Fax: 615.251.4442


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Candace Avery
Email >
Visit website