Best of Technology Website Trends Detailed in New Report from the Web Marketing Association

Share Article

Updated Web Marketing Association' Internet Standards Assessment Report Includes Historical Data Derived from a Decade of Hosting Internet Award Competition, WebAwards, and Provides Best Practices for Technology Web Design

As the standard of excellence for websites continues to increase, consumers are increasingly picky about what they consider to be an effective website - The Web Marketing Association, host of leading website awards competition WebAwards, released the Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR) to help the technology industry create more effective websites.

"As the standard of excellence for websites continues to increase, consumers are increasingly picky about what they consider to be an effective website," said William Rice, president of the Web Marketing Association, Inc. "Flash can really help technology companies bring their sites to life and provide effective product demonstrations without the need for having a salesperson visit every potential customer."

The WebAwards competition judges technology websites on seven criteria that combined help create award-winning websites:

  •     Design
  •     Innovation
  •     Content
  •     Technology
  •     Interactivity
  •     Copywriting
  •     Ease of use

Another new industry added to the ISAR study last year, the technology industry has outperformed the overall ISAR Index for two of the past four years. Content, copywriting, design, and ease of use tend to be their strengths and innovation received the lowest score.

The 2008 WebAward for Best Technology Web site went to eBusiness Marketing & Strategies for

Other past winners include:

  • 2007 WIRED Digital for
  • 2006 Streamload for MediaMax, powered by Streamload
  • 2005 R/GA Nokia Nseries Sitelet

Companies and organizations wishing to have their technology web site evaluated against the ISAR Index and be considered for a WebAward, which can help boost a Website's credibility and marketing efforts, can learn more at

To request your copy of the 2009 WebAward ISAR report, please visit:

The Internet Standards Assessment report and the 2009 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: Burst Media, B2B Magazine, BGT Partners, PRWeb, AllBusiness, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, NewsUSA, Microsoft PhizzPop, Internet World, AllBusiness, Search Engine Strategies, Webmaster Radio, Rovion, and Website Magazine.

2009 WebAward Call for Entries
The Web Marketing Association will soon be accepting entries into its 13th annual international WebAward Competition. The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets industry benchmarks that the Internet Standards Assessment report is based upon. The technology industry represents an important category in the WebAward competition, and the Web Marketing Association will again be honoring the Best Technology Web site of 2009. The deadline for entry is May 29, 2009 and the WebAward Web site is located at

About the WebAwards
Now in its 13th year, the annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industry categories by evaluating Web sites and defining benchmarks based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The goal of the Web Marketing Association, sponsor of the WebAwards, is to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective Web sites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Web site assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website