'The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life' Comes the Timely Recession Survival Quiz

Share Article

Launching today, readers can discover their singular and exclusive Recession Survival Personality. Websites can install the Recession Survival quiz at: http://www.clearspring.com/widgets/4995b9b9b6507486

what we all wonder: Do I have what it takes to survive? The riveting answers are all here.

From Ben Sherwood, author of the New York Times Bestselling phenomenon 'The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life' comes the timely Recession Survival Quiz.

Since its release in late January 2009, more than 300,000 people have taken the first Survivor IQ Quiz, which has been installed on more than 2,000 Websites around the world.

Now, targeting the nation's current economic crisis, The Survivors Club provides a second quiz, aimed at Recession Survival. It's free, quick and offers a revealing portrait of your Recession Survival Personality. It also matches you with top business leaders like Jack Welch, Steve Jobs, Meg Whitman and Tom Anderson.

Everyone knows the Web presents a blizzard of conflicting and confusing information and resources. With quick, user-friendly social media tools, like the Recession Survival Quiz, TheSurvivorsClub.org encourages the support of family and friends in an accessible fashion.

As of 7:00am edt on Monday, March 16th, readers can discover their singular and exclusive Recession Survival Personality. Websites can install the Recession Survival quiz at: http://www.clearspring.com/widgets/4995b9b9b6507486

Praise for The Survivors Club:

"This entertaining book is a mix of helpful hints, a bit of self-help puffery and tales of bearing witness to survival."

  • Chicago Tribune

"Survivors Club" will be particularly appealing to those who liked "Outliers" -- and those who were awed by US Airways Capt. Chesley Sullenberger's skill in crash-landing his bird-crippled plane in the Hudson River in a manner that enabled all on board to survive. As Louis Pasteur said, "Chance favors the prepared mind."

  • Detroit Free Press

"Sherwood sought out survivors of all kinds of accidents...and then found psychologists, ER physicians, and others who helped shed light on what had gone right for these people…it's the science that fascinates."

  • (Grade A-) Entertainment Weekly

"…everybody on my staff has read it and said my gosh, Glenn, you've got to read this book."

  • Glenn Beck

"Who beats the odds and who surrenders? The fascinating, hopeful answers to these questions are found in The Survivors Club."

  • San Francisco Examiner

"(With) a two-year journey of discovery…Sherwood explores why some survive life's dangers and others do not."

  • Orange County Register

"Gripping…(Sherwood) probes each fantastic story for that mysterious something that pulled the person through."

  • Kirkus Reviews

Everyone knows times are tough. People across America are struggling. It's unfortunate but true: Every hour of the day, 136 people lose their jobs in the recession and 80 families can't hold on to their homes. In addition to economic struggle, there are countless other challenges. Every hour, 330 people are injured in car crashes; 171 people are victimized by violent crime; and 160 people are diagnosed with cancer. Given these difficult times, we all wonder: Who survives and thrives and who doesn't? Who bounces back from the worst and who surrenders? And perhaps most important: What do survivors and thrivers know about beating the odds that we don't?

The fascinating answers to these questions are contained in the New York Times bestseller The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life (Grand Central Publishing Hardcover; January 26, 2009; $25.99) by Ben Sherwood, former executive producer of ABC's Good Morning America and bestselling author.

Tom Brokaw of NBC News hails The Survivors Club for giving voice to "what we all wonder: Do I have what it takes to survive? The riveting answers are all here." Dr. Mehmet Oz believes The Survivors Club captures "the wisdom of people who improbably survived the abyss of death." And Dr. Tim Johnson, medical editor of ABC News, says "For both my brain and my heart, THE SURVIVORS CLUB is a page-turner. And given the practical payoff, you probably shouldn't leave your bed without it!"

In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, The Survivors Club reveals the hidden side of life and death, including:
► Why some people are born more resilient than others
► Why regular religious observance can add as many as seven years to your life
► Why birthdays and holidays may be hazardous to your health
► Why some people really do have all the luck while others are more accident prone

Ultimately, THE SURVIVORS CLUB explores: What does it really take to overcome life's greatest challenges? And what kind of survivor are you? The book combines astonishing true stories, surprising scientific research, and the author's immersive experiences in the US military's most elite survival schools and the FAA's airplane crash evacuation course. In pursuit of the secrets of survival, Sherwood even underwent genetic testing to find out if he possesses the so-called Resilience Gene.

THE SURVIVORS CLUB also offers readers the opportunity to discover their own unique Survivor IQ. Each book comes with an access code to a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler, developed exclusively for THE SURVIVORS CLUB by one of the country's top research firms. The test takes only 15 minutes and generates a customized report of your unique survivor personality and top strengths. - available at http://www.TheSurvivorsClub.org. Since its release in late January, more than 300,000 readers discovered their Survivor IQ, which is installed on more than 2,000 websites internationally.

Now, targeting the nation's current economic crisis, The Survivors Club provides a second quiz, aimed at recession survival.
Websites can install the Recession Survival quiz at: http://www.clearspring.com/widgets/4995b9b9b6507486

Award-winning journalist Ben Sherwood served as executive producer of ABC's Good Morning America during the two most successful seasons in the show's 30 year history. A graduate of Harvard and Oxford, he is also the bestselling author of two novels: The Man Who Ate the 747 and The Death and Life of Charlie St. Cloud. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife and son.

Visit the official Survivors Club website
http://www.TheSurvivorsClub.org

Visit Grand Central Publishing on the Internet
http://www.hachettebookgroup.com

Contact:
Jimmy Franco / Director of Publicity / 212-364-1321 / jimmy.franco(at)hbgusa.com
Elly Weisenberg / Publicity Manager / 212-364-1570 / elly.weisenberg(at)hbgusa.com

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Melanie Moss
Visit website