Best Design Website Trends Detailed in New Report from Web Marketing Association

Share Article

Updated Web Marketing Association' Internet Standards Assessment Report Includes Historical Data Derived from a Decade of Hosting Internet Award Competition, WebAwards, and Provides Best Practices for Design Websites - The Web Marketing Association, host of leading website awards competition WebAwards, released the Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR) to help the design industry create more effective and engaging websites.

"As the standard of excellence for websites continues to increase, consumers (and WebAward judges) are increasingly picky about what they consider to be an effective website," said William Rice, president of the Web Marketing Association, Inc. "Design websites tend to push the envelope when it comes to innovation and adapting new concepts for display on their websites."

The WebAwards competition judges design websites on seven criteria that combined create award-winning websites:

  •     Design
  •     Innovation
  •     Content
  •     Technology
  •     Interactivity
  •     Copywriting
  •     Ease of use

Design Web sites have closely mirrored the ISAR index for the past decade with ten years of equal or slightly better performance. Design Web sites have scored higher than the 5-year criteria averages in design, innovation and use of technology. All other scores by criteria fell below the WebAward averages.

The 2008 WebAward for Best Design Website went to Azavar Technologies for Justyna Collections Catalog.

Other past winners include:

  •     2007 Walt Disney Internet Group / Disney XD. This site also had the honor of taking home the Best of Show WebAward
  •     2006 Publicis Net for Experience Wonder You
  •     2005 R/GA for the Nokia Nseries Sitelet
  •     2004 Gigapixel Creative
  •     2003 Arnold Worldwide for the Touareg
  •     2002 PriceWeber, Inc for Canadian Mist Website
  •     2001 Hillmancurtis, Inc for

A complete list of past winners can be found at

Companies and organizations wishing to have their design website evaluated against the ISAR Index and be considered for a WebAward, which can help boost a Website's credibility and marketing efforts, can learn more at

To request your copy of the 2009 WebAward ISAR report, please visit:

The Internet Standards Assessment report and the 2009 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: Burst Media, B2B Magazine, BGT Partners, PRWeb, AllBusiness, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, NewsUSA, Microsoft PhizzPop, Internet World, AllBusiness, Search Engine Strategies, Webmaster Radio, Rovion, and Website Magazine.

2009 WebAward Call for Entries
The Web Marketing Association is now accepting entries into its 13th annual international WebAward Competition. The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets industry benchmarks that the Internet Standards Assessment report is based upon. The design industry represents an important category in the WebAward competition, and the Web Marketing Association will again be honoring the Best Design Web site of 2009. The deadline for entry is May 29, 2009 and the WebAward Web site is located at

About the WebAwards
Now in its 13th year, the annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industry categories by evaluating Web sites and defining benchmarks based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The goal of the Web Marketing Association, sponsor of the WebAwards, is to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective Web sites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Web site assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website