Trends for the Best Publishing Websites Detailed in New Report from the Web Marketing Association

Share Article

Updated Web Marketing Association' Internet Standards Assessment Report Includes Historical Data Derived from a Decade of Hosting Internet Award Competition, WebAwards, and Provides Best Practices for Publishing Industry Web Design - The Web Marketing Association, host of leading website awards competition WebAwards, released the 2009 Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR) to help the publishing industry create more effective and engaging websites.

"As the standard of excellence for websites continues to increase, consumers (and WebAward judges) are increasingly picky about what they consider to be an effective website," said William Rice, president of the Web Marketing Association, Inc. "Publishing websites going forward should focus on innovation and ensuring they both entertain and inform web visitors."

The WebAwards competition judges publishing websites on seven criteria that combined create award-winning websites:

  •     Design
  •     Innovation
  •     Content
  •     Technology
  •     Interactivity
  •     Copywriting
  •     Ease of use

Publishing Web site performance continues to be erratic within the ISAR index. After two years of outperformance, publishing sites have again dropped below the index for the past two years. Since joining the WebAwards in 1998, publishing sites have seen five years of outperformance and six years of underperformance. These sites have exceeded the 5-year criteria benchmark averages in content, interactivity, and copywriting. They score lowest in innovation.

The 2008 WebAward for Best Publishing Web site went to for

Other past winners include:
--    2007 Entrepreneur Media Inc. for the Entrepreneur Media Inc. Website
--    2006 Arcadia Publishing for the Arcadia Publishing Website
--    2005 Kel Geddes Management ltd for Official Anne Geddes Website
--    2004 Mediapulse for New Homes Guide Website
--    2003 Association of American Colleges and Universities for AAC&U Website
--    2002 International Data Group

A complete list of past winners can be found at

Companies and organizations wishing to have their marketing Web site evaluated against the ISAR Index and be considered for a WebAward, which can help boost a Website's credibility and marketing efforts, can learn more at

To request your copy of the 2009 WebAward ISAR report, please visit:

2009 WebAward Call for Entries
The Web Marketing Association will soon be accepting entries into its 12th annual international WebAward Competition. The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets industry benchmarks that the Internet Standards Assessment report is based upon. The publishing industry represents an important category in the WebAward competition, and the Web Marketing Association will again be honoring the Best Publishing Web site of 2009. The deadline for entry is May 29, 2009 and the WebAward Web site is located at

The Internet Standards Assessment report and the 2009 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: Burst Media, B2B Magazine, BGT Partners, PRWeb, AllBusiness, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, NewsUSA, Microsoft PhizzPop, Internet World, AllBusiness, Search Engine Strategies, Webmaster Radio, Rovion, and Website Magazine.

About the WebAwards:
Now in its 13th year, the annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industry categories by evaluating Web sites and defining benchmarks based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The goal of the Web Marketing Association, sponsor of the WebAwards, is to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective Web sites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Web site assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website