Masonic Information Center (MIC) Announces Winners Of The 2008 Mark Twain Award For Excellence In Masonic Awareness

Share Article

Twenty-four Masonic Lodges achieved national recognition for their 2008 plans and accomplishments as documented in their submissions to the Twain Award competition. MIC honors Lodges' efforts to focus on education, energy, and making Freemasonry relevant.

The Masonic Information Center (MIC) announces the 2008 winners of the highly regarded Mark Twain Award for Excellence in Masonic Awareness. The Twain Award recognizes Lodge leadership for asserting a uniquely Masonic identity both within the Lodge and throughout the community that is consistent with the Fraternity's historic focus on education, self-improvement, good works, and fellowship.

Richard E. Fletcher, Executive Secretary of the Masonic Information Center says, "The 2008 Twain Award winners represent hundreds of Masons who are putting energy and creativity into their Masonic identity." Fletcher continues, "Winning a Twain Award means that members of a Lodge have come together to plan, implement, and evaluate a year's worth of activities focused on enriching the experience of being a Freemason." Winners receive a custom designed award for display and nationwide recognition through MIC web and print publications. Fletcher says, "When given the opportunity, I enjoy participating in presenting the award and recognizing the individuals who are strengthening the distinction of being a Freemason."

"The Twain Award represents our Fraternity's grass-roots efforts to generate enthusiasm and build relevance for Freemasonry, Brother by Brother -- Lodge by Lodge," says Fletcher. "The Twain Award competition is just one way that members of diverse backgrounds and multiple generations work together to innovate Masonic education and communication."

Most historians believe Freemasonry arose from stonemasons' guilds in the Middle Ages and began to flourish in the 1700's in Europe, the American Colonies and Canada. Today North America's Masonic Fraternity provides fellowship for over 1.4 million members. Masons are known for their commitment to making good men better and their philanthropic work.

For more information on Freemasonry and the Mark Twain Award go to Masonic Service Association of North America (MSANA).

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Richard Fletcher

C Bain
Bain Pugh & Associates, Inc.
Email >
Visit website