Best Broadcasting Web Site Trends Detailed in New Report from the Web Marketing Association

Share Article

Updated Web Marketing Association' Internet Standards Assessment Report Includes Historical Data Derived from a Decade of Hosting Internet Award Competition, WebAwards, and Provides Best Practices for Broadcasting Web Design The Web Marketing Association, host of leading web site awards competition WebAwards, released the 2009 Internet Standards Assessment Report (ISAR) to help the broadcasting industry learn to create more effective and engaging web sites.

"As the standard of excellence for web sites continues to increase, consumers (and WebAward judges) are increasingly picky about what they consider to be an effective web site," said William Rice, president of the Web Marketing Association, Inc. "Broadcast Web sites benefit from the abundance of video and audio content that can be integrated into the Web pages to create a dynamic and interesting user experience."

The WebAwards competition judges broadcasting web sites on seven criteria that combined create award-winning web sites:

  •     Design
  •     Innovation
  •     Content
  •     Technology
  •     Interactivity
  •     Copywriting
  •     Ease of use

Broadcast Web sites have consistently outperformed the overall ISAR index for over a decade. In 2008 they fell just short. These sites scored highest in content followed by strong scores in design, interactivity and use of technology. Broadcast sites outperformed each of the seven criteria areas over the past eleven years except for ease of use which it equaled.

The 2008 WebAward for Best Broadcasting Web site went to USA Network for

Other past winners include:
--    2007 Digitaria for KCET Online
--    2006 USA Network for USA Network web site
--    2005 Astral Television Networks for The Family Channel web site
--    2004 Endemol Deutschland GmbH for Endemol Corporate web site
--    2003 for Comic Book Superheroes
--    2002 Fry, Inc. for Fine Living Television

A complete list of past winners can be found at

Companies and organizations wishing to have their broadcasting Web site evaluated against the ISAR Index and be considered for a WebAward, which can help boost a Web site's credibility and marketing efforts, can learn more at

To request your copy of the 2009 WebAward ISAR report, please visit:

The Internet Standards Assessment report and the 2009 WebAwards are sponsored by the following leading organizations: Burst Media, B2B Magazine, BGT Partners, PRWeb, AllBusiness, ExactTarget, ad:tech conferences, NewsUSA, Microsoft PhizzPop, Internet World, AllBusiness, Search Engine Strategies, Webmaster Radio, Rovion, and Website Magazine.

2009 WebAward Call for Entries
The Web Marketing Association is now accepting entries into its 13th annual international WebAward Competition. The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets industry benchmarks that the Internet Standards Assessment report is based upon. The broadcasting industry represents an important category in the WebAward competition, and the Web Marketing Association will again be honoring the Best Broadcasting Web site of 2009. The deadline for entry is May 29, 2009 and the WebAward Web site is located at

About the WebAwards:
Now in its 13th year, the annual international WebAwards competition sets the standard of excellence in 96 industry categories by evaluating Web sites and defining benchmarks based on the seven essential criteria of successful Web site development. The goal of the Web Marketing Association, sponsor of the WebAwards, is to provide a forum to recognize the people and organizations responsible for developing some of the most effective Web sites on the Internet today. Entrants benefit from a Web site assessment by a professional judging panel and the marketing opportunities presented to an award-winning Web site. For more information, visit


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website