New Orleans' Native Mia Borders Releases Debut Album for Own Label

Share Article

Mia Borders' debut album, "Southern Fried Soul," is slated for an August 8th release under Blaxican Records.

Mia Borders and her Funk-Rock & Soul band are currently touring New Orleans in support of their upcoming release, "Southern Fried Soul," under the singer-songwriter's own independent label, Blaxican Records. The eleven-song collection is the band's second effort together, following their debut, "the ep," from 2007. Performance information is available online at

Produced by Borders and hitmaker William J. Smith in Nashville, TN, the album features all original songs, written by rhythm guitarist Borders and composed with her band - Pablo Gonzalez (bass), Nick Hingel (drums), and Kyle Sclafani (lead guitar). Also featured on the album are Nashville piano pro, Jim Wilson and New York sax player Cyrus McGoldrick.

Hailed as "New Orleans' hottest buzz band" by the City's own, Where Y'at Magazine, and named one of "97 Quirky New Orleans Discoveries" by New Orleans Magazine, Mia Borders has left a lasting impression on her hometown's local music scene. Her official website ( features not only full-length audio and video clips from the album, but also exclusive remixes, acoustic renditions, and live performances.

The official public album release party will take place Saturday, August 8 at 1PM at Peaches Records (408 N. Peters St., NO, LA 70130). "Southern Fried Soul" will be available for hard-copy purchase at Peaches, as well as any Mia Borders live performance. The album - along with the band's previous releases - will also be featured on Apple's ITunes Music Store and available for digital download at all major digital music stores.

About Blaxican Records:
 Blaxican Records, LLC is registered in the State of Louisiana and owned and operated independently. For more information, visit

Mia Borders


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mia Borders
Visit website