Eye on Entertainment on Time Warner Cable Covers 2009 Daytime Entertainment EMMY Awards

Share Article

Spectacular Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards Ceremony Held at the Historic Orpheum Theatre in Los Angeles, CA on August 30, 2009

Dawna Lee Heising and John Alsedek of Eye on Entertainment on Time Warner Cable covered the exciting Daytime Entertainment Emmy® Awards on Sunday, August 30, 2009. The Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards has been honoring excellence in all fields of Daytime Broadcast production for 36 years.

The Emmy® is awarded in 68 categories, including acknowledgements for series, performers and all other technical and creative areas. The Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards season culminated with a televised show at the historic Orpheum Theatre in downtown Los Angeles, CA that paid tribute to the exceptional work of daytime broadcasting's elite. Opened in 1926, the Orpheum Theatre has hosted everyone from Judy Garland and Jack Benny to Duke Ellington and Stevie Wonder. The Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards were broadcast from 8-10 p.m EDT on The CW for the first time.

The 2009 Daytime Emmy Awards honored the best in Daytime Entertainment Drama Series, Talk and Morning Shows, Variety, Cooking, Animation, and Courtroom Drama. This year, Sesame Street was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award for bringing children everywhere forty educating and entertaining years. The Daytime Emmys paid tribute to "Guiding Light," which CBS canceled after a 72-year run that predates television. Betty White introduced the tribute, with more than 30 past and present "Guiding Light" actors participating. Executive Producers for the 2009 Daytime Emmy Awards were David McKenzie and Paul Sharratt.

Vanessa Williams served as the master of ceremonies for the 2009 Daytime Emmy Awards. The beautiful and accomplished actress plays fashion diva Wilhelmina Slater on ABC's prime-time "Ugly Betty" and was a Daytime Emmy Award nominee for performer in an animated program for her voiceover work on the PBS show "Mama Mirabelle's Home Movies." Williams' singing and dancing talent was displayed in the show's opening number, a parody set to "Can't Take My Eyes Off of You" from the Broadway musical "Jersey Boys" in which she was comically inserted into scenes from the soaps.

Some winners for the 2009 Daytime Emmy Awards included:

  • Drama series: "The Bold and the Beautiful."
  • Lead actress in a drama series: Susan Haskell, "One Life to Live."
  • Lead actor in a drama series: Christian LeBlanc, "The Young & the Restless."
  • Supporting actress in a drama series: Tamara Braun, "Days of Our Lives."
  • Supporting actor in a drama series (tie): Vincent Irizarry, "All My Children"
  • Supporting actor in a drama series (tie): Jeff Branson, "Guiding Light."
  • Younger actress in a drama series: Julie Berman, "General Hospital."
  • Younger actor in a drama series: Darin Brooks, "Days of Our Lives."
  • Game-audience participation show: "Cash Cab."
  • Game show host: Meredith Vieira, "Who Wants to Be a Millionaire."
  • Talk show-entertainment: "Rachael Ray."
  • Talk show-informative: "The Tyra Banks Show."
  • Talk show host: "The View", Barbara Walters, Whoopi Goldberg, Joy Behar, Elisabeth Hasselbeck, Sherri Shepherd
  • Morning program: "Good Morning America."
  • Directing in a drama series: "One Life to Live."
  • Writing in a drama series: "General Hospital."
  • Performer in a children's series: Kevin Clash, Elmo in "Sesame Street."
  • Lifetime achievement: "Sesame Street."

Publicity for the Television Academy of Arts & Sciences is handled by The Lippin Group. To see EOE interviews, please go to: http://www.youtube.com/eyeonentertainment

About the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences was founded in 1955. It is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News, Sports, Daytime, Public Service and Technology. The Daytime Entertainment Emmy Awards are under the jurisdiction of and administered by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS), headquartered in New York City. For additional information call NATAS at (212) 586-8426 or visit their website: http://www.emmyonline.org.

About the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences was founded in 1946 just one month after network television was born. It is a non-profit organization devoted to the advancement of telecommunications arts and sciences and to fostering creative leadership in the telecommunications industry. In addition to recognizing outstanding programming through its Emmy® Award, the Television Academy publishes Emmy® Magazine and stages many industry-related programs, services and year-round events for the television community. The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences rewards excellence in Prime Time programming. For additional press information and resources concerning the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences, please contact Robin Mesger of The Lippin Group at (323) 965-1990.

About Eye on Entertainment
"Eye on Entertainment", a division of Eye on Excellence™ Productions, is aired twice weekly on Time Warner Cable in Southern California. The EOE team covers entertainment and red carpet events, and features interviews with successful people in all walks of life, exploring the traits they have in common. Dawna Lee Heising is the executive producer and host of EOE. She is a long-standing member of SAG & AFTRA, and is Ms. Universe 2009. The show is produced and directed by John Alsedek, who is also the writer, director & producer of the horror anthology series "AS DARKNESS FALLS", which runs on Time Warner Cable. The EOE photographer is David McNeil, who is a former executive with United Artists and was one of the developers of Pay-per-View. For more information, please visit http://www.eyeonentertainment.tv.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Dawna Lee Heising
Visit website