Publishers Weekly Writes About New Literary Collective

Share Article

The news journal introduces Backword Books, a consortium that offers a new approach to marketing books by independent authors.

As PW writer Wendy Werris explains, "With self-publishing gaining both recognition and credibility in recent months, Backword Books, in Los Angeles, has taken the first steps toward creating a literary component to the model by enlisting seven authors to include their books on its Web site and bring more awareness to the unfolding technologies in the field."

And evidence shows it just may be working.

One Backword Books novel, "Homefront" by Kristen J. Tsetsi, was recently profiled on NPR, on NBC TV's "Better Nashville," and in the Stars and Stripes, a newspaper distributed worldwide to U.S. military, Department of Defense civilians, contractors, and their families.

Additionally, several Backword Books authors will appear as guests Friday, September 11 on Stacey Cochran's BookChatter (, airing at 9 p.m., EDT.

Founder and literary author Henry Baum ("North of Sunset") explains, "With the changing landscape of the publishing industry and the countless new avenues for authors to directly reach readers, there has never been a time like this. There's a perfect storm brewing."

The perfect storm is that publishers are less willing to take chances with literary fiction while, Baum says, "Emerging media make it easier for quality writers to reach readers. Backword Books is a new approach to the book business."

Backword's authors are active in not only promoting their work, but in making it available to readers using a variety of methods. Each Backword author's novel is available in paperback, but their work is also available on Kindle and Smashwords for those using modern book-buying technology. This wide accessibility helps achieve the goal of each Backword author: to bridge the gap between the books they write and the readers who want to read them.

Briefly, the books are as follows. More in-depth overviews can be found at

  •     "Homefront" (ISBN: 978-0615139906) by Kristen Tsetsi, a former reporter and award-winning fiction writer. Readers are dropped into a world that allows them to live the hell, the horror, and the unexpected humor of waiting through a war deployment. Says Emmy Award-winning news correspondent James Moore, "Haunting and lyrical. Tsetsi has taken us inside the hearts and houses of people who love and hurt as a consequence of war. Her sentences are as true as bullets whizzing past the ear."
  •     "Broken Bulbs" (ISBN: 978-0578004259) by Eddie Wright. Called "a brilliant and stunningly original work," Broken Bulbs tells the story of Frank Fisher and his search for "something." When a mysterious young woman named Bonnie offers assistance by injecting seeds of inspiration directly into his brain, Frank finds himself involved in a twisting mystery full of addiction, desperation, toothaches, hamsters, a vindictive postal worker, and self-discovery.
  •     "Waiting for Spring" (ISBN 978-1440461163) by R.J. Keller. Waiting For Spring takes readers beyond the Maine tourists know, beyond lighthouses and lobster and rocky beaches, and drops them instead into a rural town whose citizens struggle with poverty and loss, yet push onward with stubbornness and humor.
  •     "Spam and Eggs: A Johnny Denovo Mystery" (ISBN: 978-1598588644) by Andrew Kent, pen-name of Kent Anderson, a writer and publishing expert living in Massachusetts. Johnny Denovo strips crimes down to their metaphorical roots then uses these mental insights to unnerve and thwart criminal plots. This fast-paced novel has been hailed as "a masterpiece of deductive challenge, engrossing reading, and engaging entertainment."
  •     "Threshold" (ISBN: 978-0595497584) by Bonnie Kozek, recipient of National Endowment for the Arts and the Rockefeller Foundation awards. Threshold is a take-no-prisoners noir thriller whose protagonist, Honey McGuinness--a gal who moves to Skid Row to escape a haunting past--descends into a dark, seedy, and dangerously seductive underworld in the fearless pursuit of her best friend's killer.
  •     "The American Book of the Dead" (ISBN: 978-0578026930) by Henry Baum. Eugene Myers is writing a book about the end of the world, and he soon discovers that his novel is predicting real events. He may be the one to stop the apocalypse. In the tradition of Philip K. Dick and Robert Anton Wilson, The American Book of the Dead explores the nature of reality and the human race's potential to either disintegrate or evolve.
  •     "The Brightest Moon of the Century" (ISBN: 978-0615249148) by Christopher Meeks, whose book The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea joined Baum's book in the "Best Of" Entertainment Weekly article. Brightest is a comic novel of a young Minnesotan blessed with an abundance of "experience"--first when his mother dies and next when his father shoehorns him into a private school where he's tortured and groomed.

Meet the Backword Books authors Friday, September 11 on "BookChatter" at 9 p.m. EDT.

For the full text of the PW article, go to

For more information on Backword Books, Self-Publishing Review, or any of the authors, please visit or call Henry Baum at (310) 402-9367.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author


Henry Baum
Visit website