Will Jatropha Become a 'DotCom Bubble' in Biofuel Industry? Leading to 2nd JatrophaWorld Africa, Jatropha Webinar on 30 Sept 09 Explores Challenges & Offers Strategies for Long-Term Success for This Non-Food Crop for Fuel

A free-to-air Webinar on 30 Sept 09 at 1PM GMT will answer the question, "Is the Jatropha sector becoming a DotCom Bubble?". 2nd JatrophaWorld Africa panelists Mr. James Scruby, Director of Elsbett AG and Mr.Christopher Hunter, Director of Viridesco Ltd. will discuss the challenges, controversies & paradoxes of the nascent Jatropha non-food crop in the biofuel sector.

  • Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail a friend
Is the Jatropha sector becoming a DotCom Bubble?

(PRWEB) September 22, 2009

2nd JatrophaWorld Africa, is hosting a live webinar, "Is the Jatropha sector becoming a DotCom Bubble?" on 30 September 2009 at 9AM New York, 1PM GMT, 3PM Amsterdam, 6.30PM India & 9PM Singapore.

The 1 hour webinar will be lead by Mr. James Scruby, a Director at Elsbett AG, a company that manufactures engines and oil production equipment that run on pure Jatropha oil and Mr. Christopher Hunter, Co-Founder and Director of Viridesco Limited, a Jatropha-oriented pure plant oil (PPO) Biofuel Company, with a 200 hectare, 4-year-old Jatropha project in Mozambique.

At the webinar, Mr. Scruby and Mr. Hunter will share on the challenges, controversies and paradoxes of the nascent Jatropha sector and discuss why Jatropha offers a long-term alternative to 1st generation biofuels. Commenting on the viability of Jatropha Oil as fuel, Mr. Scruby said, "Jatropha oil is an excellent biofuel in its pure form when used with reliable engine technology for pure plant operation."

Our 2 leading Jatro-entrepreneurs will also discuss mistakes of failed Jatropha projects, and pinpoint strategies that can be adopted to ensure the continued success of the Jatropha business. With controversies on food vs fuel, they will tie this discussion to the importance of sustainable practices for long-term Jatropha success.

When asked for his views on sustainable Jatropha cultivation for biofuel, Mr. Hunter remarked, "Yields that we are seeing at our project in Mozambique are in line with our expectations and demonstrate that Jatropha can be grown to yield viable quantities of Jatropha seed without large investment in irrigation and fertilizer application."

Another key area of discussion would be how the Jatropha industry can take steps to counter emerging negative views on Jatropha, especially relevant in the wake of controversial findings on Jatropha's water footprint, and emerging accusations of "land-grabbing" for Jatropha cultivation.

Those keen to tune in to the discussion with Mr. Hunter & Mr.Scruby on Jatropha non-food crop for biofuel should register for the webinar and submit questions before 30 September 09.

For more information on the Webinar and details on Jatropha cultivation, technologies, investment and latest industry trends, refer to 2nd JatrophaWorld Africa.

###