IASA IT Architect Certification Goes Live In 5 Cities

Share Article

IASA, the world's largest IT Architect professional association, will launch the CITA-Foundation and CITA-Professional certifications for IT Architect's worldwide at the NY ITARC on Oct 12, 2009. The certification provides for architects at both senior and entry levels hoping to gain a competitive edge in a tight job market. Based on 5 years of research with senior industry practitioners it ensures the IT investment for large corporations through practical skills assessments.

Certifications form the underlying value proposition for a profession and assure employers they are working with an experienced and qualified individual. They cannot be taken lightly nor influenced by vendors

The largest IT Architect organization in the world the International Association of Software Architects (IASA) will announce the availability of its CITA (Certified IT Architect) program at the 9th IT Architect Regional Conference (ITARC) in New York on Oct 12, 2009. The certification contains two parts, aimed at senior and junior IT Architects in Business, Information, Software, and Infrastructure architecture specialities, and provides a robust model for ensuring the competencies of any architecture team.

"We decided 5 years ago that offering a certification without clearly distinguishing architect skills would be bad for the profession. That is why we spent those years researching the exact competencies and background of the world's most successful architecture teams," said Paul Preiss, Chief Executive Officer of IASA.

"Our members demanded training and certification that improved their ability to deliver value in their field and distinguished IT architecture within the industry. The CITA program is based on a bedrock of research in the profession across specializations including software, infrastructure, information and business architecture. I am positive that this will serve as a wake-up call to architects around the world that individual architects, over corporations, can be in charge of their own professional competencies and capabilities as in other stable professions," he added.

The certifications, which are being piloted in Austin, TX, Atlanta, GA, Dublin, Ireland, London, UK, Stockholm, Sweden, and Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, recognize two levels of architects. The first, CITA-Foundation, is a test-based certification, which demonstrates a candidate's fluency with the fundamental concepts in IT Architecture. The second, CITA-Professional, a full board-review certification, ensures a candidate excels not only in knowledge of the foundation competencies but in the practice of their specialization as well.

"Certifications form the underlying value proposition for a profession and assure employers they are working with an experienced and qualified individual. They cannot be taken lightly nor influenced by vendors," said Andy Ruth, the internationally recognized leader in architect certifications and VP of Education at IASA.

"[…]We can no longer afford to treat IT as separate or different from other business units. IT provides as many opportunities for new revenue and business growth as sales, marketing or more traditional lines of business, but most of the industry treats IT as if it is just a bunch of geeks. This couldn't be further from the truth. The CITA program is founded on the idea that architects ensure shareholder value through the delivery of technology strategy," he added.

The CITA program comes after years of research with practicing architects across specializations. It is based on the industry-changing competency and capability model developed within IASA member communities. The competency matrix defines an IT architect as a business technology strategist, responsible primarily for ensuring organization only use technology which clearly benefits the shareholder.

"Programmers are excellent designers and implementers. Project managers ensure a project is delivered on time and on budget and business analysts make sure that technology meets user requirements, but who is watching whether the solution meets critical business success metrics? 80% IT budgets spent on maintenance and 65% project failure mean there is still something very wrong with IT. We aim to fix that," said Timothy Leonard, President of IASA Global.

"This certification is the World's first non-vendor specific global IT architecture certification and was developed with the close collaboration and participation of the Asian chapters of IASA," said IASA Asia Pacific Chairman Aaron Tan Dani.

"Through the efforts of groups like the IASA Malaysia Chapter, our country is transitioning from being an adopter of foreign skills and knowledge into a contributing partner in developing and promoting the adoption of global best practices. We at MSC Malaysia, would also like to congratulate IASA on the launch of CITA-Foundation and CITA-Professional certifications" said Datuk Badlisham Ghazali, CEO, Multimedia Development Corporation (MDeC), Malaysia

The certifications outline 5 foundation competencies for all architects in Business Technology Strategy, Design, IT Environment, Quality Attributes and Human Dynamics and recognize 3 current specializations in software, infrastructure and information architecture. Candidates for the CITA-F must test against the body of knowledge in the five foundation pillars while CITA-P candidates must demonstrate both experience and knowledge while adding the skills identified within their specialization.

IASA would like to invite all interested technology professionals to attend the IT Architecture Regional Conference New York 2009 or to review the certification materials at the IASA website.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Andy Ruth
Email >
Visit website