Insurance Brokerage Firm Mcgriff, Seibels & Williams Executive Honored as In-House Counsel of the Year

Share Article

SVP & Division Counsel John Tanner Received the ACC Robert I. Townsend Member of the Year Award for Outstanding Contributions to the In-house Community

The success of the Georgia Chapter, an ACC chapter that has given thousands to local pro bono organizations, is a testament to John’s leadership and commitment to the association and the in-house community.

The Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC) awarded the 2009 Robert I. Townsend, Jr. Member of the Year Award to John Tanner, Senior Vice President & Division Counsel at McGriff, Seibels & Williams, during its Annual Meeting in Boston. The award is one of the highest awards bestowed to members, recognizing outstanding contributions, commitment and dedication of a single member to the association.

“In these times, when much is expected of company leaders with respect to reporting and accountability, John offers peace of mind to those navigating complicated regulations and is an exemplary negotiator within his industry,” noted ACC President Frederick J. Krebs. “The success of the Georgia Chapter, an ACC chapter that has given thousands to local pro bono organizations, is a testament to John’s leadership and commitment to the association and the in-house community.”

As the current president of the ACC Georgia Chapter, John has not only been active as a leader, but also as a conduit for many sponsorships and local programs, as well as member outreach and pro bono initiatives. Under John’s leadership, the chapter has built on its tradition of pro bono support, and has donated funds to local pro bono and public interest organizations, including raising in excess of $60,000 for the Chapter’s Third Annual Charity Event in support of Pro Bono Partnership of Atlanta. In addition, the Georgia Chapter increased its commitment to ACC’s National Community Service Month, an event where all chapters are encouraged to give back to their local community.

On a national level, John has been an active leader in the ACC Value Challenge, establishing a task force for Georgia law firms to exchange ideas on alternative billing. He has further spearheaded the Chapter’s initiative to support its members in transition with increased networking and career enhancement opportunities, and established a pilot program whereby two members in transition receive a stipend to intern with a local pro bono organization. He has also co-authored articles for the ACC Docket and serves on the publication’s Advisory Board, and has served as a panelist at past ACC Annual Meetings.

Past recipients of the Robert I. Townsend, Jr. Award include: Maureen Dry-Wasson, Allegis Group, Inc. (2008); Vincent Gonzales, Sempra Energy (2007); Joe Catalano, Union Bank of California, N.A. (2006); Dawn Haghighi, Charter One Bank (2005); Andrea Bridgeman, Freddie Mac (2004); Philip R. Strauss, Brio Software, Inc. (2003); James W. Patton, New England Tech (2002); Eric M. Lee, Becton Dickson & Company (2001); and Charles A.B. Moore, Federated Department Stores, Inc. (2000). For additional information, visit

About ACC:
The Association of Corporate Counsel (ACC) is the world’s largest organization serving the professional and business interests of attorneys who practice in the legal departments of corporations, associations and other private-sector organizations around the globe. ACC promotes the common interests of its members, provides resources to help save time, money and effort, contributes to their continuing education and provides a voice on issues of global importance. With more than 25,000 members in over 70 countries, employed by over 10,000 organizations, ACC's community connects its members to the people and resources necessary for both personal and professional growth. By in-house counsel, for in-house counsel.®


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Visit website